Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, JustAnEngineer

IBYCFOTA
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Design my gaming rig TR

Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:43 pm

So I've finally decided to take the plunge and build my own high performance gaming PC. Problem is I'm completely overwhelmed on where to start. Keep in mind that I'm not at all technically inclined, and most of the terms and numbers I see thrown around make my head want to explode, so bear with me here. You might be wondering how I'll install everything if I'm not tech savvy - let's just say I'll have plenty of help from people far more knowledgable than I.

Anyways, my goal is to build a gaming PC with an emphasis on performance. I want to be able to run all of the latest games at the highest settings at the highest FPS reasonably possible. That probably means Overclocking, a term I know a little bit about but as I understand it optimizes gaming performance and signiificantly improves frame rate. Again, these aspects are of the utmost importance to me.

My budget is anywhere from $750-$1500. Of course I'd like to stay on the lower end of that scale but you get what you pay for. Then again I've seen some very impressive gaming PCs built for cheap, so I know you don't necessarily have to splurge to get something great. Sometimes the small increase in quality just doesn't justify the increase in price, and that's where I'd like to save money, by getting the best bang for my buck.