1 Gig of HyperX for $100

Share critical consumer intelligence on deals and steals.

Moderator: Hoser

1 Gig of HyperX for $100

Postposted on Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Good ram..ive got some in one rig and havent had a lick of trouble with it...decent timings as well..for those that dont want/need or cant afford 2 gigs this is a good deal.

http://shop4.outpost.com/product/3746176
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:48 am

I remember I'd paid around $150 for this kit just a few months ago. This is definitely a great deal for quality ram.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Postposted on Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:44 pm

Oddly, this RAM would seem to be the same as a stick I bought a couple of years ago (nearly that long now), yet mine has an SPD of 2-2-2-6 instead of the 2-3-2-6 they're claiming for this stuff. I was planning on looking at Kingston Hyper-X for my next buy since the similar Corsair stuff was 2-3-2-6. But now apparently they're the same. :-?
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5354
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:24 pm

Everybody went from 2-2-2-5 to 2-3-2-5 minimums when the i875 and i865 chipsets shat a brick when you used straight 2 timings.

It's the same ram, though. I bought Corsair XMS3500C2 over XMS3200LL back when this was new, because they can *run* the same timings, but the 3500 defaults to 2-3-3-6 since that's the timings for PC3500 speeds. I could safe boot off the SPD, then manually set the ram to 2-2-2-5 and still be within spec. People with 'real' 3200LL sometimes had trouble since the boards would default to 2-2-2-5 and not be able to boot unless you put other ram in.

But yeah, digression, etc; It's the same ram, newer SPD, should run same timings as the old stuff.
I've been here long enough that I think I can forgo a signature.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7957
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:26 pm

Interesting. I hadn't heard about that Intel chipset goofiness. It was a stick of XMS3200LL I was comparing against, which I bought in January 2004 (the most expensive RAM I ever bought... well, since a long time ago anyway). So evidently they updated it before then. Thanks for the info.
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5354
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm


Return to Hot Deals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest