FSB/RAM question

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

FSB/RAM question

Postposted on Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:20 pm

Hello all ...


I'm looking to build my first system in the next few months, and have been learning a ton thanks to the articles on TR and on these forums.

My question is this ... if I were to get a CPU/mobo combination that allowed my to run my FSB at 1333 or 1066, would my RAM be bottlenecking the system if it didn't run at the same speed?


thanks in advance for helping with the noobish question.
TyWebb
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:15 am

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:31 am

Theoretically, yes. But in practice, the difference isn't that substantial.

That said, with RAM being as cheap as it is now, it's probably worth the additional 25% in cost.
Thresher
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1605
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Bloomington, IL

Re: FSB/RAM question

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:55 am

TyWebb wrote:My question is this ... if I were to get a CPU/mobo combination that allowed my to run my FSB at 1333 or 1066, would my RAM be bottlenecking the system if it didn't run at the same speed?
Keep in mind a nominal setup will be using at least 2 RAM sticks for dual channel operation, so even DDR2-800 will be more than enough for 1333/1066. Not to mention the "base clock" of RAM and the FSB are the same if you use the 1:1 ratio thing.

For 1066FSB (quadpumped 266 base clock), stock config is to match with 2x of DDR2-533 (also 266 base clock).

For 1333FSB (quadpumped 333 base clock), stock config is to match with 2x of DDR2-667 (also 333 base clock).
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24417
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: FSB/RAM question

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:33 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
TyWebb wrote:My question is this ... if I were to get a CPU/mobo combination that allowed my to run my FSB at 1333 or 1066, would my RAM be bottlenecking the system if it didn't run at the same speed?
Keep in mind a nominal setup will be using at least 2 RAM sticks for dual channel operation, so even DDR2-800 will be more than enough for 1333/1066. Not to mention the "base clock" of RAM and the FSB are the same if you use the 1:1 ratio thing.

For 1066FSB (quadpumped 266 base clock), stock config is to match with 2x of DDR2-533 (also 266 base clock).

For 1333FSB (quadpumped 333 base clock), stock config is to match with 2x of DDR2-667 (also 333 base clock).


Thanks, this is what I was looking for.

So if one were to go with the 1333 FSB and 4 sticks of RAM, you would still want DDR2-667 (since we're multiplying by 2 for the dual channel ... not by the # of sticks of RAM)?
TyWebb
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:15 am

Re: FSB/RAM question

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:02 pm

TyWebb wrote:So if one were to go with the 1333 FSB and 4 sticks of RAM, you would still want DDR2-667 (since we're multiplying by 2 for the dual channel ... not by the # of sticks of RAM)?
4 sticks will give you dual channel yes. Given DDR2-800 is not that much more expensive, if you have room in the budget just get some DDR2-800.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24417
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: FSB/RAM question

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:06 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
TyWebb wrote:So if one were to go with the 1333 FSB and 4 sticks of RAM, you would still want DDR2-667 (since we're multiplying by 2 for the dual channel ... not by the # of sticks of RAM)?
4 sticks will give you dual channel yes. Given DDR2-800 is not that much more expensive, if you have room in the budget just get some DDR2-800.



Thanks. This will help immensely. Not knowing what I was doing, I was eyeing some mobos with DDR3 and then sticks of DDR3 @1333 b/c I thought that was the only way to take full advantage of the 1333 FSB ... what a colossal waste of money that would be!
TyWebb
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:15 am

Postposted on Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:09 pm

Yup, stick with good old fashion P35 chipset and DDR2. 8)

Be sure to check out TR's own System Guide for this month for reference.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24417
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests