2gb of 800mhz RAM or 4gb of RAM/ DDR3 post

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

2gb of 800mhz RAM or 4gb of RAM/ DDR3 post

Postposted on Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:37 pm

i currently have 2gigs of 800mhz DDR2 Dual Channel RAM..right now its good.

is it THAT important to get another 2 gb? i am going to anyway but just thought id ask.

if the motherboard supports 240-pin memory, and DDR3 IS indeed 240pin, can you use it? or does the motherboard have to support it fully?

and is what i have/what im getting fine? considering i have a QX6800 OC'd to 3.20ghz. if 4 gb going to make THAT much of a difference over 2 gb?

and is the 800mhz ram speed fine?
Murso24
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: Aurora, IL

Postposted on Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:47 pm

Yes, that's good.
No, having more than 2GiB of RAM is not that important for most applications.
Why did you ask if your mind is made up?
No, DDR3 is not pin-compatible with DDR2 sockets.
Yes, your motherboard must support DDR3 to use DDR3 memory.
Yes, what you have is fine.
No, more memory will not make much difference unless you are limited by RAM.
Yes, 800MHz is fine. That's the maximum "official" speed for DDR2. DDR2-1066 is pretty common, though.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15423
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:16 pm

800 mhz ram is fine
4 gig is a waste since 32 bit system will not use/recognize that amount i think it will "see" something like 3.3gigs.peace
AMD x2 6000+@3ghz
MSI K9A Platinum
Sapphire 1950 Pro 512 Meg
2x1 gig DDR 800mhz Corsair
Antec True Power Trio 650 watt ps
Nucleus
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:45 pm
Location: Texas

Postposted on Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:22 pm

Nucleus wrote:800 mhz ram is fine
4 gig is a waste since 32 bit system will not use/recognize that amount i think it will "see" something like 3.3gigs.peace
Probably more like 3GB with a 768MB video card. Does Dell ship 64-bit Vista now? You'd think they would since you can configure a pc with 4GB ram and two 768MB video cards.
Q9400@3.2GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2-800 | MSI GTX 560 Ti | Lian Li PC-7B | Corsair 450VX | Dell 2005FPW
crazybus
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 9:25 pm


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests