My 4 Gig kit of Ram

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Vote on the best choice in a performance per dollar terms

OCZ ReaperX HPC PC2-6400
2
29%
OCZ Reaper PC2-6400
0
No votes
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum
0
No votes
OCZ Vista Upgrade Edition
2
29%
Patriot Extreme Performance
3
43%
 
Total votes : 7

My 4 Gig kit of Ram

Postposted on Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:20 pm

Over the Next couple of weeks I will be buying a 4 gig kit of ram. Anyone Paying attention to the recent thread concerning 4 gigs of ram and getting it working should note I'm pretty sure I've got the tools at hand to get it working, and know what I will need to do it.

The next question is what exactly to get. I would like to keep my existing overclock in place if possible, and I'm looking for a good value. I shop pretty exclusively at CanadaComputers (I've been going there for years, and the guys cut me a break sometimes it seems). I know nothing is guaranteed, but I think the chances are pretty good.
Here Are my options:
1: OCZ ReaperX HPC PC2-6400
2: OCZ Reaper PC2-6400
3: OCZ Vista Performance Platinum
4: OCZ Vista Upgrade Edition
5: Patriot Extreme Performance
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sat Dec 22, 2007 11:29 pm

Well, it's not from Canada Computers... But I found this deal to be pretty hard to pass up!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231145

I bought this Kit... Unfortunately I can't tell ya how well it works because I don't have a Mobo or Processor to test it with... :-?

But the reviews are pretty impressive, an 81% approval rating for RAM isn't easy to find... :wink:
Daveburt714
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:47 am
Location: State of Confusion, USA

Postposted on Sat Dec 22, 2007 11:32 pm

Newegg doesn't ship to Canada...
Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:12 am

A sad truth. With the state of the Canadian dollar I'm thinking about getting an American box.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Sorry for all the Emos, I'm buzzed and don't want to be misu

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:17 am

Nitrodist wrote:Newegg doesn't ship to Canada...


Hmmm... I didn't know that!! They are our neighbors, you can drive there! What, UPS trucks can't cross the border?!
What happened to NAFTA?
If NewEgg ships to Mexico, I'm gonna be pissed!! :evil:

[DEEP BREATH]... Ok, I'm done.... 8)

This might not be as good a deal, but I'm pretty sure these guys ship to Canada :lol: ...
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php? ... re=G.SKILL
Daveburt714
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:47 am
Location: State of Confusion, USA

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:27 am

I own a 2x1GB and a 2x512MB version of that Patriot RAM and I've never had a problem with it at all. I don't have it running as fast as it can - dual-channel DDR2 750 is all the faster it's running. But it does that quite admirably for me.

That being said, Canada Computer is giving you a big ol' shaft in the bum. Since Newegg isn't an option up there, I'd look at this:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php? ... re=G.SKILL

Low-latency RAM isn't worth the price premium. I just got what I have because I got a really awesome deal on it in the first place.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21546
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:44 am

I do like NCIX due to lack of takes out west. but how is 150 bucks a better deal?

the ocz is 113...

forgive me if i don't give credence to ocz mail in rebates...
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:53 am

derFunkenstein wrote:Low-latency RAM isn't worth the price premium. I just got what I have because I got a really awesome deal on it in the first place.


I would say 10~15% increase in price for stuff that you knew would do at least 200Mhz higher at decent timings would be worth the $20....
Daveburt714
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:47 am
Location: State of Confusion, USA

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:11 am

The stuff I linked was DDR2/1000, which just gives some headroom for overclocking without having to worry about the Memory clock so much..

$37 (30%).... I don't know, the $113 OCZ starts looking a whole lot better, you could probably get a decent OC out of it if you loosen up the timings....
Daveburt714
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:47 am
Location: State of Confusion, USA

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:30 am

I can certainly appreciate the value of higher stock rated ram.

However the price point is a little high. The overclock headroom is nice, but is it overkill?

Also G-skill isn't a brand I've had much hands on with. I know about OCZ and Crucial, and Mushkin. But is G-skill a brand I can trust?

What is the chips those sticks use?
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:32 am

You can trust G.Skill.
Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Postposted on Sun Dec 23, 2007 2:00 am

On the site they say timings of 4-4-4-12 which is pretty good and a lifetime warranty. Hard to argue with that.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Mon Dec 24, 2007 5:48 am

PC6400 for $100
PC8000 for $130
what's your fsb at right now? if its anything less than 425 i'd grab the first kit as the extra head room probably wont be needed.
i7@4.0|24gb ddr1333|gtx 460|xonar dx|lian-li pcv1200
Mr. Bamboo Head
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:59 pm
Location: british columbia

Postposted on Mon Dec 24, 2007 8:00 am

My FSB is at 486 for 24/7 use.

Right now the PC is off because it's in the garage. I have it set at 500, which will get me the magic 3.5GHz.

We'll see tonight, haha.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:44 pm

Well a little bit of bad news. My overclock with my 2 gig kit is toast. The 4 gig kit just doesn't seem capable. I'm stable at 3.0GHz, but any more just doesn't seem in the cards. I've got looser timings running and that's at 1:1 making the effective frequency 429*2 = 858.

Anything above that just isn't 24/7 stable. Even with that it's required a LOT more voltage running to the ram. 2.35V to be exact which has necessitated active cooling for safety.

However I do have the whole 4095MB showing up. which makes it a success. I'm betting with tweaking I might be able to get to 3.2 again. But still 3.0 on an E6300 is nothing to scoff at I'd say.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests