DDR3 vs DDR2

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

DDR3 vs DDR2

Postposted on Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:02 pm

I'm a college student and I intend to buy a desktop and a laptop in August 2008.

I want the desktop to be ideal for gaming and the laptop to be light and ideal for university work. I intend to get 4GB RAM for the desktop. My current intention is to get DDR2. However, due the rapidly dropping prices of DDR2 RAM , 8GB should be feasible by August.

Should I get 8GB DDR2 or DDR3 with less memory? DDR3 prices are sky-high right now despite the great increase in speed. So, any ideas?

Oh, and another thing, if I do decide to get DDR2, is there any motherboard out there that will support both DDR2 and DDR3 in case I decide to upgrade to DDR3 in the future?

Desktop budget: Less than $1000
Laptop budget: Less than $1500

Thanks in advance
Lews Therin
Gerbil

Re: DDR3 vs DDR2

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:06 am

Welcome to the forums.

Lews Therin wrote:I want the desktop to be ideal for gaming and the laptop to be light and ideal for university work. I intend to get 4GB RAM for the desktop. My current intention is to get DDR2. However, due the rapidly dropping prices of DDR2 RAM , 8GB should be feasible by August.
Whether you need 8GiB will depend on what applications you are going to use.

Lews Therin wrote:Should I get 8GB DDR2 or DDR3 with less memory? DDR3 prices are sky-high right now despite the great increase in speed. So, any ideas?
Only great increase in paper speed. Actual performance (with applications and stuff) is still nothing to write home about yet because of higher latencies and the memory controller not keeping up.

Lews Therin wrote:Oh, and another thing, if I do decide to get DDR2, is there any motherboard out there that will support both DDR2 and DDR3 in case I decide to upgrade to DDR3 in the future?

Desktop budget: Less than $1000
Laptop budget: Less than $1500