DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Postposted on Fri May 16, 2008 7:36 pm

I just upgraded to 2 GB (2x 1 GB) Kingston PC 5300 from 1 GB (2x 512 MB) PC 3200. Before the upgrade, CPU-Z showed the frequency as 333.3 MHz. After I put in the new sticks, it still shows 333.3 MHz. Am I missing something here? Is there something I should be changing?

Here's the rest of the info fyi:
Frequency: 333.3 MHz
FSB:DRAM: 6:10
CAS# Latency: 5.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# delay: 5 clocks
RAS# precharge: 5 clocks
Cycle time (Tras): 15 clocks
Bank cycle time (Trc): 20 clocks
Command rate: 1T
Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 3.16 GHz | 4 GB DDR2 6400 | eVGA 780i SLI | eVGA e-Geforce 9800 GTX+
Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio | Thermaltake Armour LCS | | LG Supermulti Blu-ray/HD-DVD Drive
Win XP Media Center Edition
NomandixGT
Gerbil
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:09 pm
Location: Calgary, AB / Cranbrook, BC Canada

Re: DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Postposted on Fri May 16, 2008 7:41 pm

PC 5300 = 5333 Mbytes/sec = 667 MHz double data rate = 333 MHz base front side bus.

Your ram is working at the correct speed. For example, my PC 6400 RAM runs at a base front side bus of 400 MHz.
Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.
X3 720 @3.6, 1.4V | GA-MA790X-UD4P | XFX 4890 | 2x2 PC6400 | HDT-S1283 | ModXStream 500W | CM690
scare
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:52 am
Location: yes.

Re: DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Postposted on Fri May 16, 2008 10:31 pm

NomandixGT wrote:I just upgraded to 2 GB (2x 1 GB) Kingston PC 5300 from 1 GB (2x 512 MB) PC 3200. Before the upgrade, CPU-Z showed the frequency as 333.3 MHz. After I put in the new sticks, it still shows 333.3 MHz. Am I missing something here? Is there something I should be changing?
Did you mean you upgraded from PC2-4200? I don't recall DDR2 ever comes out in "3200" speeds. Or are you talking DDR1 here? :o
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24375
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Postposted on Fri May 16, 2008 11:35 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
NomandixGT wrote:I just upgraded to 2 GB (2x 1 GB) Kingston PC 5300 from 1 GB (2x 512 MB) PC 3200. Before the upgrade, CPU-Z showed the frequency as 333.3 MHz. After I put in the new sticks, it still shows 333.3 MHz. Am I missing something here? Is there something I should be changing?
Did you mean you upgraded from PC2-4200? I don't recall DDR2 ever comes out in "3200" speeds. Or are you talking DDR1 here? :o

It does exist. I've seen it used on early budget DDR2 systems. Kinda undesirable from a performance perspective. The additional latency of DDR2 with no added bandwidth...w00t!
Q9400@3.2GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2-800 | MSI GTX 560 Ti | Lian Li PC-7B | Corsair 450VX | Dell 2005FPW
crazybus
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 9:25 pm

Re: DDR2 5300 showing at 333 MHz?

Postposted on Sat May 17, 2008 1:03 am

crazybus wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:
NomandixGT wrote:I just upgraded to 2 GB (2x 1 GB) Kingston PC 5300 from 1 GB (2x 512 MB) PC 3200. Before the upgrade, CPU-Z showed the frequency as 333.3 MHz. After I put in the new sticks, it still shows 333.3 MHz. Am I missing something here? Is there something I should be changing?
Did you mean you upgraded from PC2-4200? I don't recall DDR2 ever comes out in "3200" speeds. Or are you talking DDR1 here? :o

It does exist. I've seen it used on early budget DDR2 systems. Kinda undesirable from a performance perspective. The additional latency of DDR2 with no added bandwidth...w00t!

"reduce performance anxiety" :lol:
Looking for Knowledge wrote:When drunk.....
I want to have sex, but find I am more likely to be shot down than when I am sober.
Heiwashin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3027
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Denham Springs, LA


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests