A little inconvenience

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 11:46 am

Ive always had a little problem with my X48 board. Every time I boot up I get this message

No IDE Master H.D.D. Detected!
Press F1 to Resume

Once I hit F1 it boots into windows with no prob, its just a little bit annoying. Is there anyway to fix the F1 thing
What is a nurse doing on a tech forum!?
Jakubgt
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:20 am
Location: Illinois

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 11:49 am

Are you running a SATA hard drive? If so, you could try disabling the IDE controller, or simply removing IDE devices from the boot devices list.
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7329
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 11:53 am

Assuming your hard disk is connected to one of the SATA ports connected to the Intel disk controller (ICH), you could try disabling the secondary disk controller in the BIOS.

(Edit - beaten to the punch!)
Q9550@3.4 ~ Asus P5E ~ 4GB XMS2-6400C5DHX ~ Gigabyte Windforce 3X 7950 3GB
Xigmatek S1283 ~ LG DVDRW ~ Samsung F3 1TB ~ WD Caviar SE 640GB ~ Asus Xonar DX ~ Corsair HX 520W
Antec P182 ~ Logitech G7/G15/G25 ~ Sennheiser HD555 ~ BenQ FP241W
MrJP
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:04 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 11:55 am

I just went into the bios and can't seem to find an option to disable the IDE controller, but I just turned off this jmicron controller that fixed a screen before that that said no jmicron controllers were found.

Edit: I set the boot priority to my sata first, then my dvd, then a removable device. Still no luck
What is a nurse doing on a tech forum!?
Jakubgt
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:20 am
Location: Illinois

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 12:14 pm

Do you have a device plugged in as slave without a master?
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15339
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 12:17 pm

I only have two drives a sata HDD which is plugged into the 3rd port and a sata dvd.

EDIT: just noticed there are no jumpers. Anyone know a place to buy one?
What is a nurse doing on a tech forum!?
Jakubgt
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:20 am
Location: Illinois

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 12:47 pm

I found this kind of error too on ASUS P5E.

My solution is...
You need to connect your SATA hard drive on the first SATA port.
Check the manual for the location and move the SATA cable to the appropriate port.
Life is short
fpsduck
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:13 am
Location: Unknown Planet called Earth

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 12:56 pm

fpsduck wrote:I found this kind of error too on ASUS P5E.

My solution is...
You need to connect your SATA hard drive on the first SATA port.
Check the manual for the location and move the SATA cable to the appropriate port.


IT WORKED! Thank you.
What is a nurse doing on a tech forum!?
Jakubgt
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:20 am
Location: Illinois

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sat May 24, 2008 1:14 pm

Jakubgt wrote:
fpsduck wrote:I found this kind of error too on ASUS P5E.

My solution is...
You need to connect your SATA hard drive on the first SATA port.
Check the manual for the location and move the SATA cable to the appropriate port.


IT WORKED! Thank you.


I forgot to include this in my previous post.

Damn ASUS. 8)
Life is short
fpsduck
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:13 am
Location: Unknown Planet called Earth

Re: A little inconvenience

Postposted on Sun May 25, 2008 7:27 pm

Agree. That's retarded.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21281
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests