Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, Thresher

Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author

Any problems with nVidia chipset and ATi graphics?

Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:04 am

I'm just staying away from the 780G because it seems to have a few problems with hard drives which could be overcome, but I'm not willing to spend the time on it.

Will there be any problems once I add a ATi card, though? I have no experience with onboard and discrete graphics in the same system, especially if they're from different vendors.
Mothership: FX-8350, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, MSI GTX 1070 Sea Hawk, Crucial MX500 500GB
Supply ship: [email protected], 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Thinkpad X230

alloyD
Gerbil First Class

Re: Any problems with nVidia chipset and ATi graphics?

Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:52 am

I have an Asus P5N-D which has an Nvidia chipset, and am running a Radeon HD 4850 with no problems whatsoever. The motherboard works fine, but it had compatibility issues with my RAM (fixed with a BIOS update). The graphics card absolutely rocks.

edit: oops! I didn't realize that you were talking about running discrete and onboard. I think that it would work just fine. At most you'd have to change a BIOS setting or two. Years back I ran a system with intel integrated graphics and an nVidia graphics card, and that worked just fine.
"The danger lies not in the machine itself but in the user's failure to envision the full consequences of the instructions he gives to it." --Neil Stephenson

JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God

Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:50 pm

I had an incompatibility with my NForce4 Ultra motherboard and my Radeon HD3870X2. The same board worked fine with a Radeon X1950Pro and a Radeon X800XL, so I believe it's the dual-GPU nature of the card that is incompatible with the NVidia NForce4 chipset.

Skrying
Gerbil Jedi

Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:02 pm

I've never heard of such issues with 780G, which ones are you talking about?