Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:34 pm

So I have lots of extra DDR2 notebook memory. LOTS. 1GB modules, 2GB modules, etc. These things are worthless so they're impossible to sell, but what about repurposing them?

I'd love to find a way to use them in a desktop as an SSD "substitute" or SOMETHING. Have run into PCIe RAM drives etc. in the past, but can't seem to find any available or that would let me use notebook RAM.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
JdL
286DX > Pentium Pro 200 > Athlon 1000 @ 1.4 GHz > Athlon 64 2.2 GHz > Athlon XP 3200+ > Core 2 Duo 3300 @ 4.0 GHz > Core 2 Quad 6600 G0 @ 3.2 > Core i7 3770 @ stock
JdL
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2002 10:45 am
Location: United States of America

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:30 pm

Do iMacs use that kind of RAM? Maybe you can sell or trade it to Mac people.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/i ... -imac.html

Core Duo models and beyond?

http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/i ... .0_20.html

The later ones use DDR3 SO-DIMMS but earlier I think do DDR2 and maybe DDR.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:32 pm

What is "lots"?
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:37 pm

Any chance you have two 1GB sticks of PC2-5300? If you really don't have a use, I'd be more than happy to pay shipping or a reasonable amount.
i7 860 - GA-P55-USB3 - 8GiB - HD7850 - SSD - 3.64TB HDD - Xonar D1 - U2410 - Win7 Pro x64.
DancinJack
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:21 pm
Location: Cambridge,MA

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:50 pm

Yeah I actually could use some too if you're just looking to dump it and cover shipping and some of your time, etc. Though I'd hold out for 2 GB chips, personally. ;)
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:56 pm

LOL well that's interesting. So if you guys do have a solution, you're not sharing and just asking for the RAM outright :)

Would have been cool to know if anything exists that I could use. Maybe a do-it-yourself SSD??

PM'ing the interested parties anyway. Will only ask for enough to cover shipping.
JdL
286DX > Pentium Pro 200 > Athlon 1000 @ 1.4 GHz > Athlon 64 2.2 GHz > Athlon XP 3200+ > Core 2 Duo 3300 @ 4.0 GHz > Core 2 Quad 6600 G0 @ 3.2 > Core i7 3770 @ stock
JdL
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2002 10:45 am
Location: United States of America

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:06 pm

They most likely want a stick or two for their own notebooks, as far as what you could do with that much RAM on a large scale... ebay?
BloodSoul
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Sun Apr 17, 2011 12:06 am

I should point out that you cant make an SSD using DDR2 because its volatile, which means that once powered off, it wont continue to hold data (at least, not for very long).
DF bobo
Gerbil
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:08 am
Location: Canada

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Sun Apr 17, 2011 1:44 am

Actually, battery-backed RAMdisks aren't unheard of; TR even reviewed one years ago. That one was designed for DDR but you can certainly find ones that use DDR2. I can't say I've seen one that takes notebook SODIMMs, but such a thing might exist. (For that matter, even battery backup isn't strictly necessary for a RAMdrive: sure, you lose the contents when the power is removed, but if all you need is temporary storage, or a fast read-only SSD that is populated at boot from slower storage. RAM works fine)
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9927
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 2:11 pm

Re: Have extra RAM, will, um... what do do with it?

Postposted on Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:31 am

Well, you can give this a shot:

http://www.memorytesters.com/ramcheck/ddr2_sodimm.htm

Call for pricing, though. There may be some desktop adaptors out there as the products have been around for a while:

http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... en&ie=UTF8

However, not sure where you'd pick one up off the top of my head. Perhaps a converter plus one of the ol' I-Ram drives would get you somewhere. Would be expensive though.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Denver, CO.


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests