Pfsense motherboard

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:33 am

I will like to build a Pfsense bos which will enable me to tune and run better instead of getting a out-of-box which i dont know what is the limitation.

feature such as 2- VLAN , 2 GLAN , 2 NIC port at least ?
mghong
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 8:50 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:26 pm

You want to write your own bios? That is not just something you can just sit down and write by yourself...
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11669
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:49 pm

I suspect he meant "box". :wink:

It's difficult to make out, but I think he wants a recommendation for a system with 2x Ethernet ports for use in a home-built router, running the pfSense distribution.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3070
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:41 pm

bthylafh wrote:I suspect he meant "box". :wink:

It's difficult to make out, but I think he wants a recommendation for a system with 2x Ethernet ports for use in a home-built router, running the pfSense distribution.


Yupe, thank bthylafh .
mghong
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 8:50 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:32 am

Ah, the mighty key slip when typing, okay now it makes a little more sense...
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11669
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:46 pm

IIRC, Pfsense doesn't require a whole lot of hardware.

I'd probably just do it on the cheap, and pull some Intel PCI network cards off the bargain pile. They should be supported out-of-box.

I'd go as low-voltage as possible to keep the heat down for the rest of the box. I'd probably go with a Wolfdale Pentium dual-core, probably the cheapest one, and an inexpensive micro-ATX motherboard to support it. Even if the board has an onboard network port, it is probably Realtek, so I'd probably still go with two Intel PCI network cards for best driver support and performance.

This Biostar mainboard looks like the perfect candidate.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813138314

Intel's Celeron E3400 is the second-cheapest Socket 775 processor at NewEgg (the cheapest is single-core, 65nm rather than 45nm, and is only six dollard cheaper, so I'd skip that).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819116348
Core i7-2600K @4.2GHz, GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD5, 4x4GB G.Skill RipJaws PC1866
Corsair 650D case, Seasonic X750 Gold PSU
WD `Raptor 600GB boot, WD Caviar Black 1TB data, NEC 7200 DVDRW
2x Radeon 6970 2GB in Crossfire, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2407WFP
LoneWolf15
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 7:36 am
Location: SW Meecheegan

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:39 pm

if you end up with a relatively decent set of hardware ... why not try virtualizing pfSense ... this way you aren't wasting an entire hardware kit on just pfSense.

I've had a couple people at work looking for the newer T/S model Sandy Bridge CPUs ... plus some cheap ram & Intel NICs ... you can get a reasonable Linux host to run and then run some virtualization on top.

depending on the hardware, you could also get ESXi going (free OS) and it's a powerhouse for running many OS'.
IamTHEvilONE
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:15 pm

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Fri Oct 14, 2011 10:43 am

You may want to consider a product like this Soekris net5501.
If you really want GigE ports (and are sure you can make use of them), then take a look at the net6501.
Cubical 10
I only know enough to be dangerous.

Do ubuntu? pfsense
cubical10
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:03 pm

This barebones system:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6856140042

or this Atom motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813153188

would make a terrific and very low power system for a pfSense firewall.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9068
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 11:42 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Pfsense motherboard

Postposted on Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:12 am

IamTHEvilONE wrote:if you end up with a relatively decent set of hardware ... why not try virtualizing pfSense ... this way you aren't wasting an entire hardware kit on just pfSense.

I've had a couple people at work looking for the newer T/S model Sandy Bridge CPUs ... plus some cheap ram & Intel NICs ... you can get a reasonable Linux host to run and then run some virtualization on top.

depending on the hardware, you could also get ESXi going (free OS) and it's a powerhouse for running many OS'.


Will you able to guide me on this , at least ti make sense to drive a idle pc to work extra.. :D
mghong
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 8:50 am
Location: Malaysia


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests