Do I really need more ram?

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:09 pm

I currently have 12gb (3x4gb) of triple channel ram in an x58 motherboard.

The exact ram I already have is on sale at NE for $55 with free shipping. I hate to pass up such a great deal, but I also hate to spend money unnecessarily.

I do some gaming, web development, and getting into some light app development. Nothing heavy duty at this point.

Is it worth it, and is there a point of diminishing returns?

Thanks
Corsair 650D | Corsair AX750 | MSI XPower Big Bang X58 | Intel i7-950 | Corsair Hydro Series H80i | MSI GTX670 OC PE | 12gb GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | WD Caviar Black 1TB w/ Win 7 64-bit | MS Reclusa Keyboard | Logitech MX518 | Asus VW246H & VW224U
RickyTick
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:27 pm

At 12GB, you're already way past the point of diminishing returns for today. However, who knows what you'll do tomorrow? :D
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:30 pm

RickyTick wrote:I currently have 12gb (3x4gb) of triple channel ram in an x58 motherboard.

The exact ram I already have is on sale at NE for $55 with free shipping. I hate to pass up such a great deal, but I also hate to spend money unnecessarily.

I do some gaming, web development, and getting into some light app development. Nothing heavy duty at this point.

Is it worth it, and is there a point of diminishing returns?

Thanks


For what you're describing, 12gb is way more than enough RAM.
cphite
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:28 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:32 pm

RickyTick wrote:I currently have 12gb (3x4gb) of triple channel ram in an x58 motherboard.

The exact ram I already have is on sale at NE for $55 with free shipping. I hate to pass up such a great deal, but I also hate to spend money unnecessarily.

I do some gaming, web development, and getting into some light app development. Nothing heavy duty at this point.

Is it worth it, and is there a point of diminishing returns?

Thanks


If you were in a longer-lifed chipset, I'd say go for it. However, 24 GiB in an X58 in a lga1366 socket... I just don't see the need for your usage. If anything, find another single DDR3 sitck of your spec of RAM, and hold out for an Z68.
Sony a7
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8 SSM, 24-70/4 SSM
Minolta 100/2, 100-300 APO
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2198
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 8:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:29 pm

TheEmrys wrote:
RickyTick wrote:I currently have 12gb (3x4gb) of triple channel ram in an x58 motherboard.

The exact ram I already have is on sale at NE for $55 with free shipping. I hate to pass up such a great deal, but I also hate to spend money unnecessarily.

I do some gaming, web development, and getting into some light app development. Nothing heavy duty at this point.

Is it worth it, and is there a point of diminishing returns?

Thanks


If you were in a longer-lifed chipset, I'd say go for it. However, 24 GiB in an X58 in a lga1366 socket... I just don't see the need for your usage. If anything, find another single DDR3 sitck of your spec of RAM, and hold out for an Z68.


That really depends on how long he's planning to use the computer before replacing it, doesn't it? If he's going to use the X58 system for four or five more years, or until it dies, he's not exactly holding out for Z68.
FuturePastNow
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:28 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:13 pm

I'm really considering the x58 - i7 950 combo to be more than capable to handle whatever I throw at it. I realize I need a gpu upgrade, but I'm waiting that one out as long as I can. I was just curious if adding more ram would be beneficial in any way. I may just save that 50 bucks for a new video card.
Corsair 650D | Corsair AX750 | MSI XPower Big Bang X58 | Intel i7-950 | Corsair Hydro Series H80i | MSI GTX670 OC PE | 12gb GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | WD Caviar Black 1TB w/ Win 7 64-bit | MS Reclusa Keyboard | Logitech MX518 | Asus VW246H & VW224U
RickyTick
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:25 pm

Absolutely go for it. At that price it's almost criminal not to. Besides it's not 'triple channel RAM', the RAM can be used on any DDR3 motherboard, AMD or Intel. The triple channel part refers to the motherboard architecture. So even after your motherboard dies, you'll still have ALL THAT RAM to use on the next build!!!

And like the saying goes ... 'You can't be too nerdy, too cheetosy or have too much RAM'.
spigzone
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:41 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:01 pm

spigzone wrote:The RAM can be used on any DDR3 motherboard, AMD or Intel... So even after your motherboard dies, you'll still have ALL THAT RAM to use on the next build!!!
Ivy Bridge is probably going to like PC3-14900 (933 MHz "DDR3-1866") memory that runs at 1.5 V or less.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15596
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:06 pm

I made a GB of my ram into a Ram Disk.
It really makes photo editing fast.
Hp h8-1020 i7 Win7 Pro, HyperX 120 GB SSD
too Old & Lazy to build my own
RealityChk
Gerbil
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 10:37 pm

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:21 pm

I'll vote for you checking your RAM usage via the Windows task manager. Try a worst-case scenario of running everything at one time then look at the performance tab of the task manager to see how much is free or avail. If there's lots then I see no point in buying more.

Buy more, when you need more and not before. A purchase delayed, is money saved!. There will always be sales, so don't just buy it now because it is cheap. If there is any history of pricing in RAM or for the most part any computer component is that in the future it will be cheaper, faster, and all around better.
Put those spare CPU/GPU cycles to good use - Folding@Home
Image
P5-133XL
Gerbil
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:52 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:08 pm

Check your usage, but from what I'm reading, you don't need it. You're actually way past it. Spend that money on an SSD instead.
halfline
Gerbil
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:15 pm

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:30 pm

I have 12GB too and seems to be enough. Usually server OS with SQL Server, Exchange, etc... needs lots of RAM, plus some apps may require lots of RAM. Check your RAM usage first.
Core i7 960 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1.5TB HD | Asus GTX Titan | Dell WFP 3008 30" 2560x1600 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
michael_d
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:42 pm

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:02 am

RickyTick wrote:I'm really considering the x58 - i7 950 combo to be more than capable to handle whatever I throw at it. I realize I need a gpu upgrade, but I'm waiting that one out as long as I can. I was just curious if adding more ram would be beneficial in any way. I may just save that 50 bucks for a new video card.


Because of this, I'd say no. Save the fifty.

RAM is cheap. That's why I have 16GB of it, far more than I need. However, that came with a system rebuild, with a mainboard setup I plan to use for awhile.

The X58 platform is powerful, but being the only triple-channel setup in town, it's the only board where memory goes in sets of three. When you eventually upgrade, you'll either go in pairs, or in fours. If you upgrade RAM, you'll probably end up with extra modules that won't work in that configuration, and since you're not maxing 12GB now with your usage (and won't in the near future), why add RAM?

Going above 12GB could be useful if you run a several virtual machines simultaneously, but that's about it. Even with 12GB, you can easily run at least two simultaneously on top of your operating system.
Core i7-4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H-BK, 16GB (4x4) G.Skill RipJaws PC1866
Corsair 650D case, Seasonic X750 Gold PSU
WD `Raptor 600GB boot, WD Caviar Black 1TB data, NEC 7200 DVDRW
ASUS STRIX GTX 970, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2408WFP
LoneWolf15
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 8:36 am
Location: SW Meecheegan

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Sat Dec 10, 2011 1:07 pm

You'd probably be fine with 3 GB of RAM, so if you have 12 GB, then you're probably fine.
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:05 am

I never figured out if 8gb was any different than 6gb. It seemed like my system ran better with SMALLER RAM. I STILL haven't come up with a verdict yet...
ashelton
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:02 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:21 am

RickyTick wrote:I currently have 12gb (3x4gb) of triple channel ram in an x58 motherboard.

The exact ram I already have is on sale at NE for $55 with free shipping. I hate to pass up such a great deal, but I also hate to spend money unnecessarily.

I do some gaming, web development, and getting into some light app development. Nothing heavy duty at this point.

Is it worth it, and is there a point of diminishing returns?

Thanks


I have yet to find someone complaining to have too much RAM. Specially now that RAM is cheaper than ever it's not a question of too much, it's a question of how much your motherboard supports.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Do I really need more ram?

Postposted on Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:46 am

i went for it, but i have 6 matched sticks; so any 2 should work in double channel. a RAM disk would be nice tho; I'm starting to run into a lot of lag and such editing large CAD files. but that may have more to do with cad than my hardware.
i7@4.0|24gb ddr1333|gtx 460|xonar dx|lian-li pcv1200
Mr. Bamboo Head
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:59 pm
Location: british columbia


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests