Help with memory setup

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Help with memory setup

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:55 am

Hello i recently recieved all the parts to build a new computer and am having trouble getting my memory to run at 1866MHZ.

The memory is currently running fine at 1600MHZ if i use the default setting on the motherboard but it wont boot if i change the setting to 1866MHZ and save/restart in the bios.

Motherboaord:
ASUS F1A75-V EVO FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131784

Memory:
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231455

I purchased the memory based on the qualified vendor list from asus.

Per the instruction book the memory slots read as follows:
Slot 1 - Channel A1(Blue) <First Memory Stick>
Slot 2 - Channel A2(Black) <Empty>
Slot 3 - Channel B1(Blue) <Second Memory Stick>
Slot 4 - Channel B2(Black) <Empty>

I read through the motherboard manual and its very lacking in information.
I am still unsure if i might have the memory sticks installed incorrectly or if its just a setting in the bios.

Thanks in advance,

Loren
Scalyed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:40 am

Re: Help with memory setup

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:35 am

You have installed your DIMMs in the correct (blue) slots.

When you increase the memory speed to 933 MHz (DDR3-1866), be certain that you're also relaxing the timings to the specified 9-10-9-28.

It may be necessary to increase the memory voltage from the default of 1.50 V to 1.60 V to get stable operation at higher speed.

If all else fails, operating your memory at PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) speed isn't going to slow down your system a whole lot compared to PC3-15000 (DDR3-1866).
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15153
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Help with memory setup

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:36 am

Have you tried relaxing any of the other timings (e.g. increasing the CL setting)? If you're just bumping the clock speed to 1866 without changing anything else, that could explain why it isn't POSTing. As a start, I'd try adding 2 to the default values of all the latency settings. If that POSTs, you can try backing them down again to see what's stable.

I would recommend using Memtest86+ instead of trying to boot into the OS until you find the fastest stable settings, since booting into the OS with marginal memory settings can corrupt your OS installation.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36922
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Help with memory setup

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:15 am

Thanks!

Ill check the bios out when i get home, i for sure didn't adjust the timing or the voltage.

I assumed when i asked it to change to 1866 that it auto adjusted the rest on its own.

Loren
Scalyed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:40 am


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests