About thermal and power supply feature

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:04 pm

Does any CPU from any manufacturer have that feature that only goes turbo mode when your power Supply allows us to??? what if you configured it for lets say 500W and then irt finds head room to activate more speed and more core or something?? because maybe you taught it was the process that limit ehm.. that chip but...
carcakes
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:45 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Power supplies are very very rarely the limitation in desktop PCs. On laptops, sure, but they're a lot more integrated in terms of power management and monitoring.
Z68XP-UD4 | 2700K @ 4.4 GHz | 16 GB | 770 | PCP&C Silencer 950 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | HAF 932 | 1 TB WD Black w/ SRT
Waco
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:03 pm

'monitoring'
carcakes
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:45 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:32 pm

No processor that I know of will throttle or increase speeds depending on the PSU. If your PSU is insufficient, you'll get stability problems (crashing).

If you don't want your CPU to "go into turbo mode" go to Control Panel - Power Management Settings - Advanced Settings - Processor Power Management and adjust the "maximum Processor state" to 95%. There may be more graceful ways to accomplish the same thing (disable TurboCore/Turbo Boost in BIOS if the machine supports changes to such values), but what I mentioned should work for all desktops AND laptops.
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:39 pm

I don't believe that motherboards have any means of detecting the load level of the powersupply. CPU throttling on the desktop is based off of heat, not power availability. Even if it were possible, you would never want to run so close to your powersupply's limits, especially since their output degrades with age.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Postposted on Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:13 pm

motherboards can't detect it, but you can often *tell* it not to exceed certain power limits. That won't help you if the maximum load is not known in advance however
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron