hooking up Oppo dvd to HD montor and getting Colored snow

What you see is what you get, including photography, displays, and video equipment.

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

hooking up Oppo dvd to HD montor and getting Colored snow

Postposted on Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:44 pm

i'm trying to hook up a Oppo DV-970HD upconverting dvd player with a hdmi port to a HANNSG JW199D montor with a dvi port to try to get some HD action going. i connect it together with a phillips hdmi to dvi cable i got at walmart. when i which the dvd player to 720p at 60hz i get picture for a second then colored snow. i can't figure out why that is? i don't want to spend money on another cable. anyone ever encountered "colored snow"?
fox mulder
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:41 pm

Re: hooking up Oppo dvd to HD montor and getting Colored sno

Postposted on Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:50 am

fox mulder wrote:i'm trying to hook up a Oppo DV-970HD upconverting dvd player with a hdmi port to a HANNSG JW199D montor with a dvi port to try to get some HD action going. i connect it together with a phillips hdmi to dvi cable i got at walmart. when i which the dvd player to 720p at 60hz i get picture for a second then colored snow. i can't figure out why that is? i don't want to spend money on another cable. anyone ever encountered "colored snow"?
Is your monitor HDCP compliant? What happens when you try to play the DVD at 480p?
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:58 pm

it may not be?! the same thing happens when i which it to 480p.
fox mulder
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:41 pm

Postposted on Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:38 am

fox mulder wrote:it may not be?! the same thing happens when i which it to 480p.
If it happens at 480p I don't think it's an HDCP issue. It may be that your monitor just doesn't like the Oppo. :( Can you try another display and see if it works on that?
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:15 am

could it be the cable?
fox mulder
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:41 pm

Postposted on Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:25 am

fox mulder wrote:could it be the cable?
I guess it could, but I think it's unlikely. It's not like it's a long run or anything, and unless there's an obvious break in the cable somewhere we're just talking about 1s and 0s moving along a piece of flexible metal.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:01 pm

http://www.oppodigital.com/dv970hd/dv970hd_spec.html

According to the specs it only does anything out over hdmi with hdcp.

And component out is limited to 480I/480P.

Thats the way I read it...
Digital Video: HDMI with HDCP (NTSC 480i/480p/720p/1080i, PAL 576i/576p/720p/1080i)
Component Video**: Y/Pb/Pr, NTSC 480i/480p/720p/1080i, PAL 576i/576p/720p/1080i. Component output for CSS-encrypted DVD discs (almost all commercially pressed DVD discs) is limited to 480i/480p only.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:12 am


Return to Visual Haven

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests