Question about my new HDTV

What you see is what you get, including photography, displays, and video equipment.

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:03 am

I have a new HDTV it looks really nice. But when I'm watching tv from my cable box through an HDMI cable, it looks perfect but the image seems a little zoomed in like it cuts the tops off peoples heads and the bottom is missing some some text when your watching news or similar. I'm not zoomed in and the TV is detecting the right signal because displays the signal type for a brief second. My thinking is, and maybe you can help me on this, but is this the native resolution? I mean since it looks so good it's displaying a one to one resolution. I haven't had coffee yet so this may not be a very coherent post.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:27 am

Moved to Visual Haven.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:51 am

What kind of TV?

Do you have overscan enabled?

I assume this is regular ol' cable, not the HD variety?

Is the signal displaying full screen? If so, try displaying it natively.
Molon labe.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20551
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:40 am

keep pressing the zoom button or whatever your aspect ratio button is
there are 4 types of displays, zoom, widescreen zoom, 4:3, and widescreen

most TV shows are in 4:3
what is happening in order to get a 16:9 picture the TV cuts the top and bottom of the frame to make it look like widescreen
so in your options or whatever u need to play with the aspect ratio

oh btw, there could be a setting on your cable box options as well, better check
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:56 pm

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:06 am

I'm at work now, but I've been through the displays setting full, zoom1, zoom2, and stretch, full is the best quality. Now one thing I thought of is when I'm viewing with cable it looks ok but with the HDMI cable is when it looks zoomed.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:08 am

What kind of TV?

Did you RTFM?
Molon labe.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20551
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:23 am

You may need to change the output format on the source. Assuming this is an HD cable box and you can't find any output format settings, try searching google for instructions on how to access the service menu on the cable box.
Fonetik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:13 pm

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:33 am

Vrock wrote:What kind of TV?

Did you RTFM?



It's a visio vl470m

and yes i did RTFM over and over.

A guy here at work who had the same comcast cable box and remote showed me a button on the remote called HD Zoom.

bottom right of the remote you'll see it if you zoom in. http://www.comcast.com/medialibrary/1/2 ... OCHURE.pdf

I'll have to try it when I get home.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:43 am

Fonetik has a good suggestion. Nose around in the cable box menu and set it the output to "native" or "full pixel" or something like that. Then use the TV to control the aspect ratio.
Molon labe.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20551
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Re: Question about my new HDTV

Postposted on Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:53 pm

The cable box was in zoom when going through the HDMI. Wow I'm impressed my first HDTV looks awesome. Now I need to go get me a blue ray player.

Thanks for the replies.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX


Return to Visual Haven

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests