Lightroom scratch file optimization with SSD's

What you see is what you get, including photography, displays, and video equipment.

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

Lightroom scratch file optimization with SSD's

Postposted on Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:13 pm

My system has two SSD's. I installed lightroom on one SSD and my OS is in a second partition on the same SSD. All my photos are on the other SSD. The idea was that I could get quicker response that way. Well, that worked fine; it was lightning quick. Until, that is, I found out that Lightroom keeps scratch files on the OS drive and quickly fills its tiny 30GB full of temp files. I can delete the cache, I can delete the previews but it quickly clogs up. I don't see any way to trick Lightroom into keeping these files elsewhere. What, if anything, have y'all been able to do about this in your own systems?
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Re: Lightroom scratch file optimization with SSD's

Postposted on Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:14 am

I'm on my work comp so I cant check the exact location, but I distinctly remember there being a setting in the options for cache size and cache location, should be right along the purge cache button in the options under the heading "Camera Raw Cache Settings" or something like that.

For my lightroom I put on the secondary drive that is a 300GB velociraptor as cache and catalog place opposed to the 160GB SSD that I have as an OS drive.

Edit: I'm at home... go to Edit->Preferences and choose the pane File Handling, in the lower part you have the Camera RAW Cache Settings where you can purge and select the directory.
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: Lightroom scratch file optimization with SSD's

Postposted on Fri Apr 08, 2011 10:18 pm

What do you guys use for your max cache size? It seems that 1.0 GB is the default, but would going higher increase overall performance?
jobodaho
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:30 pm
Location: University of Nebraska Lincoln

Re: Lightroom scratch file optimization with SSD's

Postposted on Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:35 pm

Aphasia wrote:...
Edit: I'm at home... go to Edit->Preferences and choose the pane File Handling, in the lower part you have the Camera RAW Cache Settings where you can purge and select the directory.

Yeah, I found that option and moved my cache to my Lightroom drive. Jobodaho, I've been using a 16GB cache under the theory that bigger is better.

What seems to be taking up the most room is this Lightroom directory which gets installed on the same drive as Lightroom 2...
Lightroom 2 Catalog Previews.lrdata
At the moment, with cache cleared; this directory has 23GB of data in it which on my SSD is 33% of the formatted drive capacity. I have 10558 photos spread between a 50GB partition on the boot drive and a 75GB partition on the Lightroom drive which respectively take up 27GB and 47GB. So, after deleting all 10,600 previews (Library tab, previews, delete all previews), this directory still contains 10,600 files containing 23GB of data!
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope


Return to Visual Haven

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests