Edited a video in WMM, doubled in size?

What you see is what you get, including photography, displays, and video equipment.

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

Edited a video in WMM, doubled in size?

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:55 pm

So, I am going to make sure this stays away from rule #1 for not only myself (which I am not having an issue with here) but for others who post after.

So, I have videos I have recorded on my Sony a65. I had them in AVCHD format at 1080/60. I converted them with handbrake into mp4 @720/23.976. All is well. So then, I wanted to crop the beginning and the end for when I futz around with the camera. So, I load up Windows Movie Maker. After loading the video for 15 minutes or so, I trim the beginning and the end and click on save. The file jumps from 600 megabytes up to 1.2 gigabytes. So, what's going on here and how can I fix it? Everything is too simple for me to make my own settings (or is there a way I just am not seeing?).
Sony a7
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8 SSM, 24-70/4 SSM
Minolta 17-35/2.8-4 D, 35-105/3.5-4.5, 100-300 APO
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2067
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 7:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado

Re: Edited a video in WMM, doubled in size?

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:13 pm

Sounds like you need to futz with some compression settings.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36893
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Edited a video in WMM, doubled in size?

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:55 pm

I think WLMM is a newer version of WMM - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/Wind ... 1=overview

I don't know if it'll be any different, but worth a look.
Current box: 8.1, A10-7850K, 660, 8GB 1600, 256GB SSD+1TB HD due for further upgrades in the next few months
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: Edited a video in WMM, doubled in size?

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:19 pm

It may be a bit late now, but in future you can trim the start and end of the clip in handbrake, as you do the original conversion.
This avoids re-compressing the video, which both takes time and will cause some quality degradation.
Dent
Gerbil
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: NZ


Return to Visual Haven

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests