No posts!?!?!

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 12:49 am

C'mon! We've got an overclocking forum and no overclocks to discuss???

How sad!

:sad:
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8044
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 7:20 am

How 'bout that Celeron 300A? What a CPU! :razz:

Bruce
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 3:42 pm

OK:
How far can I push the Crucial PC2100 CAS 2.5 DIMMs? Will they do 150/300 DDR FSB (PC2400)? How 'bout 166/333 DDR FSB (PC2700)? Planned home is an ABit KG7 (AMD 760 north/VIA south hybrid) with an Antec 350W for the juice.
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Greenfiled, WI

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 5:15 pm

Hi,

I'm not a hardcore tweaker, but I'll take a stab at this: try it and find out. I've personally had wildly different results with identical memory modules.

One quick way to check to see whether you've got a chance: see what speed the memory chips themselves are rated for. If they're 7.5ns then you're good (in theory) for 133MHz - to get 150MHz your chips need a 6ns rating. Although YMMV, as I've seen 10ns stuff go way over 100MHz....

Bruce
Bruce
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 5:35 pm

Here's a thought for you:

My Abit KT7A overvolts the processor when set to the default voltage. If I set it in the bios to 1.6, on reboot it is somewhere near 1.79. Now, that is nice to take the cou above and beyond it's rated speed, but don't you think it's pretty bad that I have to undervolt the thing to get it to where it's supposed to be?

Just a thought, not that I'm super upset about it or anything...
highlandr
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in downstate IL

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 6:53 pm

OK, here's the deal:
I don't have the RAM yet, it's a tossup between the Crucial stuff (which is rated at 7.5 ns) and the Corsair PC2400 (rated at 6.0ns) The reason I ask is the Crucial is cheaper, and there is anecdotal evidence to suggest that it is capable of >133/266 DDR FSB. If some1 out there is currently using the Crucial stuffs, and know whether or not this is doable, I'd appreicate the input.
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Greenfiled, WI

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 10:22 pm

I personally have taken my 7.5ns CAS2.5 PC2100 to 150 FSB and CAS2, strictest timings. Crucial would mark them faster, but there's no JEDEC standard past PC2100 yet.

Also remember that the ns ratings are approximate, and one maker's 8ns is another's 7ns, sometimes good, sometimes bad.

I have a stick of IBM here marked 10ns that runs 133 CAS2 flawlessly. I have another stick marked 6ns here that won't do 133 bus very well. There's no real way to enforce ns ratings.
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8044
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Sat Dec 29, 2001 12:55 am

I can't say I've ever thought of you as the resident "Overclocking" expert...
dJed.
DjEasyDick
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Lewistown, MT

Postposted on Sat Dec 29, 2001 12:57 am

What, me?

highlandr - my KT7A does that too. I think it's by design.
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8044
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:33 pm

My cheap-a$$ PC2100 is running fine at 145MHz, CAS2, maxed out settings..

The A7V266E is supposed to be a good overclocker, so far I am impressed..

EP
elmopuddy
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Postposted on Sun Dec 30, 2001 7:08 pm

Okay then smart people out there...

How do I convince my mate who has a Celery 300A to oc it... no wait

How do I convince my m8s dad who has a Celery 300A?

He says his system is perfectly fine @ the mo, and he's right, he don't use it beyond his means, so how I convince him????
IntelMole
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3529
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: The nearest pub

Postposted on Mon Dec 31, 2001 2:33 am

If he has no use for the speed then he shouldn't overclock it.

That's right. No point in it to load a spreadsheet a few ns faster.

He *should*, however, trade it for one of my 333s that won't do more than 333. He'll get a faster CPU and I'll get a 450A. :smile:
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8044
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Mon Dec 31, 2001 4:24 am

Leave your m8's dad alone, unless you want to have to be their personal, free tech support. Heh...
DMG
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: In your dreams...

Postposted on Thu Jan 03, 2002 1:45 pm

[My Abit KT7A overvolts the processor when set to the default voltage. If I set it in the bios to 1.6, on reboot it is somewhere near 1.79. Now, that is nice to take the cou above and beyond it's rated speed, but don't you think it's pretty bad that I have to undervolt the thing to get it to where it's supposed to be?]

Right. I noticed the same thing. The default voltage on mine is 1.85 but when I check the pc health section it is over 1.90! Thats a lot of juice.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Jan 07, 2002 2:47 am

Dolemite - I was just taking out my MP to sell it to lenzenm tonight, and I noticed somethign funky:

The MP 1.2@1.466 with the BIOS set to 1.85 = measured voltage of 1.85 exact

The Tbird 1.2@1.33 with the BIOS set to 1.85 = between 1.91V and 1.93V

See if you can find anyone with a Palomino/Morgan CPU in the area. It'd be interested to see if it's just me.
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8044
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA


Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 5 guests