Post your Highest OC'

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:41 pm

Celeron 300A to 464 MHz. :)
Contingency
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: al.us

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:50 pm

Awesome dude..did it get warm :lol:
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:21 pm

Poor me...I never touch overclock before...but I don't know how to do overclock my own systems. :(
FX-55|Patriot 1GB DDR400|BFG 7600GT|Rosewill 550W PSU|Biostar nforce4 SLI|Samsung SATA 300GB HDD
Skyline57GTR
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:01 am

HEHE, i stucked 6 sticks of ram in to my computer today...
boy oh boy battlefield two was fun, thanks to my friends for letting me mess with their ram... bf2 was GREAT!! i was running at 3.63g ram was 242fsb at 2.9volts and let me say i put the 9800pro in good use.... haha, i was playing everything high but only 2x aa, i don't know if i can handle 4xaa

fun stuff
Intel P4 3.0 Northwood @ 3.6-Gigabyte GA 8PENXP(beast mobo)-1 gig OCZ gold ram-9800Pro
takeflight21121
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:18 am

Managed 2.3GHz out of my 2500+ AthlonXP (Non-mobile) on a A7N8X-Deluxe at 1.85v. Air cooling, around 58c under load...got I love my Thermalright Si-97 :D
I have discovered that all human evils come from this, man's inability to sit still in a room. ~Blaise Pascal
Zenith
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:06 am

i got my x2 3800 priming at 2.6 right now. 1.41v and 61 degrees. i'll back it down to 2.4 or 2.5 for everyday
i7@4.0|24gb ddr1333|gtx 460|xonar dx|lian-li pcv1200
Mr. Bamboo Head
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:59 pm
Location: british columbia

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 6:43 am

What did you do with the other 5 cpu's ?

Stuffed them in systems, they could all attain at least 2.4ghz. I also did some "playing" with mobile Celerons, while the end result was not as good as with P4m's, the "numbers" were similar.

seems like good deal . 6 cpu's for 160 bux ?

The most expensive was $30, I have paid as low as $10.

if you were going for pure cpu speed, you could have turned down the memory divider.

Sure, but that was missing the whole point. This whole thing started as an inquiry at another Forum, I had some time, and a few extra $ to play, and play I did, taking clues from here and there, and turning them into fast el-cheapo systems.
Systems, I might add, that run and play like a P3 on steroids, rather than a P4, though not quite as good at the things a P4 is good at, they play fine, and the investment was minimal (no "special" motherboards, no "expensive" heatsinks, just a bunch of "off the shelf" obsolete stuff (other than the ram), what overclocking used to be, turning junk into gold).
mrfixitx100
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 4:15 am
Location: Canada

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:11 am

mrfixitx100 wrote:What did you do with the other 5 cpu's ?

Stuffed them in systems, they could all attain at least 2.4ghz. I also did some "playing" with mobile Celerons, while the end result was not as good as with P4m's, the "numbers" were similar.

seems like good deal . 6 cpu's for 160 bux ?

The most expensive was $30, I have paid as low as $10.

if you were going for pure cpu speed, you could have turned down the memory divider.

Sure, but that was missing the whole point. This whole thing started as an inquiry at another Forum, I had some time, and a few extra $ to play, and play I did, taking clues from here and there, and turning them into fast el-cheapo systems.
Systems, I might add, that run and play like a P3 on steroids, rather than a P4, though not quite as good at the things a P4 is good at, they play fine, and the investment was minimal (no "special" motherboards, no "expensive" heatsinks, just a bunch of "off the shelf" obsolete stuff (other than the ram), what overclocking used to be, turning junk into gold).

Why is everyone asking those questions? :lol:. I mean, lots of people bought 10+ Opterons and sold many of them via eBay. Someone even bought 20 Opterons :o. Im not that die-hard, but Im willing to sell my VGA/mobo/CPU/RAM multiple times if its not the right revision :roll:.
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:44 am

Mirage wrote:Celeron 300A to 464 MHz. :)


Celeron 366 at 550. :P
Molon labe.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20617
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 8:19 am

Celeron 300A --> 504 MHz (68% increase).

Pentium III 450 --> 700 MHz (55% increase)

Thoroughbred B 1.53 GHz --> 2.2 GHz (43% increase)

Venice 3000 1.8 GHz --> 2.5 GHz (38.9% increase)

Toledo Opteron 165 1.8 GHz --> 2.6 GHz (44% increase)


Dang, it looks like my gains have been going steadily downhill since the "good old days" of the Celeron A :P
Voldenuit
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2455
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:10 pm

Postposted on Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:03 am

Got 2.55 on me xpm 2600(one..the other was a dud at only 2.45). Still both looking at me with longing from the other side of the room :lol:
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:07 am

My Best OC'ing chip, has to be the one I'm using now....

Ya have to admit, a 33% OC is nothing to sneeze at!!

A 2.0 rated chip that runs at 2.65 and is rock solid...

And I could get it to Bench at 2.75, but didn't like running
the V's at 1.6... (Rated for 1.4)
Daveburt714
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:47 am
Location: State of Confusion, USA

Postposted on Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:18 am

I've got a thoroughly massive OC on my Venice 3200+ so it's running at 2.36 on 1.4 volts. :cry:
I'm pretty sure my mem controller is crapping out on me because it doesn't like dividers, so with some better ram I could probably do better (mine only goes to 216), but it's not particularly worth it as I don't do anything intensive besides folding and gaming, and my 6600GT is the limiting factor there.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Postposted on Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:10 pm

amd 3800 venice from 2400 to 2808 (friggin hot though... loads at 58C) but with stock cooling :) and my 7800 gt to 515 1185, no artifacts :).
AMD Athlon 64 4200x2+ @ 2700mhz, BFG 7950GT @620mhz core, ASUS A8N-E Motherboard
elite3124
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:19 pm

Postposted on Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:48 pm

35w mobile 2400+ oced to 2.3 (11.5x200 1.65vcore) - Didn't push it further

x2 3800+ oced to 2.3 (230fsb, HTT 4x at 1.168vcore) - Not the highest oc but heck, with initial results like this I imagine it will go quite high.

Edited with a lower vcore. Can yours do that hancey pants? :lol:
Tachyonic Karma: Future decisions traveling backwards in time to smite you now.
Convert
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3134
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 6:47 am

Postposted on Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:31 am

AXP 1600+ 1.4 to 1.617.
AXP 1600+ 1.4 to 1.85.
AXP 2400+ 2.0 to 2.2 with 1.85v regular use. For benching purposes, 2.3 with 1.95v, 2.4 with 2.1v.

A64 mobile: 1.8 to 2.6, vcore: 1.85v, RAM was at 217 with 2-2-2 timings. But then I chipped the corner of it and it wasn't stable at any speed in 3d. Could pass prime or any other 2d app though.

Opteron 170: 2.0 to 2.7 vcore: 1.55v, RAM is at 250 with 2-3-2 timings. It can actually get up to ~3.0 but can't get both cores to prime at the same time.

Sempron 2800+: 1.6 to 2.4, vcore: 1.45v, RAM is at 244 with 2-2-2 timings. Replacement for the A64 mobile, seem to have hit an HTT wall at 302. Still needs further in testing.
<img src="http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=Adamantine&teamid=2630&label=255,255,255&header=255,255,255&stats=255,255,255&trans=yes&template=techreport&cpu=6" />
Adamantine
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: MI

Postposted on Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:05 am

Best one I've done is of course the LV 1.6Ghz Xeon at 3.2Ghz.
|Dual LV Xeon1600@3200Mhz!|Athlon2500|Athlon1800@2000|
ThelvynD
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 3:37 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Postposted on Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:11 am

There's a low voltage Xeon?
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Postposted on Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:36 pm

LV Xeons are marketed towards blade/1U servers.
<img src="http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=Adamantine&teamid=2630&label=255,255,255&header=255,255,255&stats=255,255,255&trans=yes&template=techreport&cpu=6" />
Adamantine
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: MI

Postposted on Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:50 am

2.4Ghz on a thoroughbred B 1700+, using home brew watercooling, an NF7-S and giving the CPU 2.2V

In terms of percentages though the highest was Venice A64 3000+ at just over 2.8Ghz, DFI NF4, watercooling and 1.8V.
Aarond
Gerbil
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Regina

Postposted on Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:54 am

2.5 ghz now on my 3700
I know i could push it more no problem
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:23 pm

My "Merry Christmas AMD" CPU is my current best. It is running a little over 2.5 GHz and is totally Prime stable. <a href="http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=66734">This</a> is the CPU-Z link...
The previous results were <a href="http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36900"> here</a>.

Since then I have changed the memory divider to 5:6 and added a new cooler. The Hyper 48 or "CM KHC-L91-U2 92mm" from Cooler Master is what I have keeping things under 120 F. It folds like a banshee :D
I have nothing more to say about that.
Xylker
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postposted on Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:51 pm

3200+ Venice from 2000 to 2300, and am still incrementing up from that on stock cooling. Getting 41-45C under load, which is well within the safety zone. I think I'm set at 1.45v presently...

2800+ Barton from 2083 to 2370ish, again I just stopped there because going any higher seems to give me some instability in spite of the very good PSU and RAM (OCZ Platinum 1GIG sticks).

I only overclock to a point I consider "modest," though the Venice is certainly just loafing at 2300 according to the temps.

I have a 9800Pro on the 2800+ Barton system I've gotten to something like 390/360 or so...relying on memory here (no pun intended). That system has gone well over 5500 on 3DMark03. My other machines are either Silicon Graphics (no sense in 3DMark there) or use Matrox Video cards (triple head setups, 3 at 1600x1200 with dual video cards to run that res...)
You can make the rules when you get up from the dead.
lgeis
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:48 am
Location: Boise, Idaho

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:59 pm

Just bumped the 3200+ Venice to 2350MHz, still on 1.45v, idling at 38C. Stock cooling. The RAM is testing out at almost 5GIG/second bandwidth (dual channel).

This from a $160 (newegg.com) processor? Am I missing something? CPU fan speed 2150.

I'd feel safe even anywhere below 52-53, so will run some load tests. Any recommends on why this thing may seem so cool?

Asus K8T800 Pro-based Mobo.
You can make the rules when you get up from the dead.
lgeis
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:48 am
Location: Boise, Idaho

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:29 pm

You won't get high temps (~50C) on a venice unless you have 1.75vcore and your at 2.7-3.1GHz. Or exceptionally poor cooling.
<img src="http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=Adamantine&teamid=2630&label=255,255,255&header=255,255,255&stats=255,255,255&trans=yes&template=techreport&cpu=6" />
Adamantine
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: MI

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:38 pm

You won't get high temps (~50C) on a venice unless you have 1.75vcore and your at 2.7-3.1GHz. Or exceptionally poor cooling.


That's just incredible. I have seen some reports of folks taking a Venice 3200+ to 2.5GHz, which would roughly be the equivalent of a 3800+, wouldn't it? On stock cooling, no less.

Amazing chip.
You can make the rules when you get up from the dead.
lgeis
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:48 am
Location: Boise, Idaho

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:52 pm

IIRC 2.6 is the FX55..so you would be just down a notch from that..and yes..quite an amazing chip at that :wink:
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:16 pm

Heya, Lickety!

OK...forgive my ignorance, I'm not a hardware expert at all, but am I to consider that for $160 I got something along the lines of an FX-53 or so, for only the additional effort of screwing with my BIOS a bit?!?

I know the chip is fast...it's a noticable, no small speedup over my beloved Silicon Graphics boxes (which listed at between $16K and $20K when they were new, 5-7 years ago). On my 3D rendering program, which is a software renderer (it's built for Flash applications), it screams.

BTW, I'm not gaming and have a Matrox Parhelia in my AGP slot, which I am not going to send bumped voltage to. This box is running a supplemental PCI video card, so I have three monitors set up at 1600x1200 at 32 bits. Thass Badd!
You can make the rules when you get up from the dead.
lgeis
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:48 am
Location: Boise, Idaho

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:29 pm

lgeis wrote:Heya, Lickety!

OK...forgive my ignorance, I'm not a hardware expert at all, but am I to consider that for $160 I got something along the lines of an FX-53 or so, for only the additional effort of screwing with my BIOS a bit?!?


Correctomundo young fella..heck of a chip for the money. I just built a cheapo 754 2800 clawhammer and its at 2.3 :lol:
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:02 pm

Dell GX260 P4 Northwood 2.4Ghz 1.25GB RAM, stable OC to 3.0Ghz via Podien's CPU FSB utility.
streagle27
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 11:16 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests