Post your Highest OC'

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Postposted on Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:53 am

lgeis wrote:
You won't get high temps (~50C) on a venice unless you have 1.75vcore and your at 2.7-3.1GHz. Or exceptionally poor cooling.


That's just incredible. I have seen some reports of folks taking a Venice 3200+ to 2.5GHz, which would roughly be the equivalent of a 3800+, wouldn't it? On stock cooling, no less.

Amazing chip.

People have taken a hotter chip (Opteron 146/148, hotter because of the larger L2 cache) and OC'ed it to 3.1GHz on air and relatively low volts. It was pretty much a specific manufacturing week though, but they were the ones that pretty much started the whole Opteron OC'ing craze.
<img src="http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=Adamantine&teamid=2630&label=255,255,255&header=255,255,255&stats=255,255,255&trans=yes&template=techreport&cpu=6" />
Adamantine
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: MI

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:48 am

Got the 3700 up to 2.7 this weekend , w000t
Took me a while to figure out the mobo , i got it now
Temps 33 idle on air , voltage 1.48
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 10:06 am

Overclocked a Palm Pilot -like device (don't recall exactly what it was) back in highschool from 44mhz to 66mhz iirc. Something asinine like that.

First t-bird chip from stock to 1.3ghz

Athlon xp 2600 from 1.8 - 2.4

Athlon xp-m 2600 from 1.8 - 2.4

Video cards:

Overclocked my 9000 pro (can't recall numbers), my 9600 pro to past xt speeds, my 9800 pro well beyond xt speeds, and my 6800gt to 430 /1.1

I never go balls-to-the-wall on my OC'd because I can't afford to replace what I once considered high end. Volt modding is out of the question for me, as is anything more than say a .2 voltage bump.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11914
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:29 am

Sempron64 2800 @ 145% (2320 from 1600) is so far the highest OC I've done. I'm not through with it yet though :D

And 6800GS @ 112% (475 from 425). I was hoping for more from this card :cry: I'm waiting for a version of NiBiTor that will let me tweak the vcore. Mods for the 6800GS seem pretty scarce so far.

Had XP-M 2500 @ 133% (2400 from 1800)

Had 9800Pro @ 110% (420 from 380)

Had 6800-128 @ 123% (400 from 325)


All of these OCs were the everyday running state, I don't count OCs that I don't stay at.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:32 am

flip-mode wrote:

All of these OCs were the everyday running state, I don't count OCs that I don't stay at.

Same Here
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:51 am

I ran my 3200+ at something like 2.4 GHz. I took it down when I realized it didn't really matter that much; my graphics card is my bottleneck, and I haven't been able to OC it hardly at all.
paulWTAMU
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5519
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Amarillo, Texas

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:14 pm

I ran my 3200+ at something like 2.4 GHz. I took it down when I realized it didn't really matter that much; my graphics card is my bottleneck, and I haven't been able to OC it hardly at all.


Ha! I'm running Matrox graphics cards...I'm not gaming, but I do unnerstan.

Armed with confidence off of your post, I just "upped" my 3200+ 64 to 2.4 and am idling at about 47C (room is presently 69.3F, CPU fan is stock unit at 2312RPM). I'll let it sit here for a few work sessions (Photoshop and Flash) and see what kind of real world temps I bump up to. I do a lot of batch processing in Photoshop that can run to 45 minutes at near-full processor.

2 questions:

1. Where would you stop with a 3200+ Venice? Idle at 50? Extended loads at 55? I think AMD's benchmark is 65C...but I'm a wuss about these things.

2. I have no idea how to change my memory settings. I'm using 2 1 GIG sticks of Corsair XMS PC3200, and am getting great speed: AIDA32 says 4.7G/s read which is roughly equivalent to a P4-3.00HT with dual PC3200, and 1.8G/s write, which is higher than an FX-51 with dual PC3200 (I am using dual channels).

I know the memory is stock at 2.75 volts, and have the option of bumping it to 2.8...is that how I'd speed it up a bit, without changing anything else?

Mobo is an Asus A8V, and my diagnostics say the Mobo supports only 2.9v...I'm a bit confused (Lickety will corroborate this...).

Thanks!
You can make the rules when you get up from the dead.
lgeis
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:48 am
Location: Boise, Idaho

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:45 pm

Legis, you might want to start a new thread rather than turning this into a helper thread :wink:
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

I just used some software that came with my mobo (gigabyte). I didn't mess around with memory timings, and I didn't measure temps; I'm in a nice server case, with something like 3 120MM fans (it gets sorta load though). There's also a vent or two.
Frankly, I never set a stop limit--if it didn't work, or had stability issues, I'd have stopped then, but if it ran, it was fine :D
I'm still learning about OCing, so sorry I'm not more help.
paulWTAMU
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5519
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Amarillo, Texas

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:34 pm

my highest overclock was probably that xp-m 2500+ going from 1.83 to 2.5

OCed an x2 3800+ from 2.0 to 2.55 and an opteron 165 from 1.8 to 2.3 similar in that 500 mhz range.

feels good when u get an extra 500 mhz out of a dual core cpu :-)
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Postposted on Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:20 pm

I think the percentage figures are much more interesting than the MHz figures. Take the Celron 300a - a 200MHz OC was in some cases 66%!
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Ha

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:59 pm

Used dry ice to overclock a P4 3.4 to 5.7gigs, but i couldn't load windows.
BoBzeBuilder
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: Beerland

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:11 pm

A-XP 2500+ to 2.4
Intel Core i7-860 | Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 | Radeon HD 5750 | Mushkin 4GB | 2xWD 640GB RAID | Lian Li Lancool PC-K62
snapa
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 12:40 am
Location: RI

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:18 pm

1.6 ghz overclock, p4 2400 to 3996ghz, it is a celeron-d 256k chip (166% overclock)
Last edited by maxxcool on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cybert said: Capitlization and periods are hard for you, aren't they? I've given over $100 to techforums. I should have you banned for my money.
maxxcool
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 8:40 am
Location: %^&*%$$

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:42 pm

I had my 3400 go from 2.2 to 2.3 Ghz at best :cry:
<img src=http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=DragonFli&teamid=2630&label=255,117,255&header=255,255,255&stats=255,77,255&trans=yes&template=techreport&.jpg>
Athlon64 3400+ (C) | MSI K8N Neo | OCZ 2GB DDR400 | eVGA Geforce 6800GT | Antec P160
DragonFli
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:18 am
Location: Glendale, California

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:45 pm

I'd say my best overclock is my most recent build from, ohh, three days ago.

A64 X2 3800 at 2.4 ghz. At full load, it's a little on the hot side at ~64C. I plan to correct that with a big HSF in the near future.
Intel 4770K @ 4.3 ghz (delidded) | Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler | Asus Z87-A Mobo | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3-1866 RAM| Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD | 3 TB Mechanical Storage | Corsair Carbide 400R Enclosure
firerules16
Graphmaster Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 1:35 am
Location: DFW, TX

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:48 pm

I've got my Opteron 165 at 2.44GHz, up from 1.8. It is one sweet chip. This is at 1.4vcore.
smakkythecamel
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:48 am

Well, I just got done tweaking a little more with mine. cpu @ 12x200, ram or mobo won't allow fsb any higher (not quite sure which, and too lazy to find out)
Also have my video card at 600/1.15 from 500/1000. Not too bad. Oh, and my cpu temp right now is 32C GPU is 38. Mobo is 18. (it's 35 degrees out and my windows is open with the fan on :wink:
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21301
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:58 am

What are you basing the best results on?

Do you want it based on Mhz, or percentage wise.

I had a 900 Celeron that ran at 1.2. that's a 33% overclock. My current cpu (3.06 stock) has been running at 3.5 with a slight voltage bump for over a year now.
For those that fought for it, freedom has a taste that the protected will never know.
-Unknown Veteran
Hoser
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8307
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: In a lab playing with blood

Postposted on Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:05 pm

I generally don't OC my CPU's because they run hot enough already with F@H. My 6800 has a modest oover clock on it.

However, my 3rd computer was a P150 and with a little jumper change I went from a 25fsb to a 33fsb and a P166. That was actually a nice improvment.
Image
"Give me a scotch. I'm starving" ~ Tony Stark
PRIME1
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7561
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 5:07 pm
Location: , location

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:40 pm

i got my old athlon xp-m to go to 2500, but i usually ran it @ 2400 because of the heat.
it worked at 2500 though.

scariest OC i had was by accident. i wasnt even trying to do it.
when i first had my a64x2 3800, i had it overclocked with ddr400.
2.4 i think.
when i upgraded my ram to 2 gigs ddr 4000, i set the divider to 1:1 and restarted to run memtest.
i didnt realize what i had done until after a minute or so of watching the test, i saw in the corner the cpu was running 2.9 or something.
scared the crap out of myself, thought i was gonna burn out my cpu, so i restarted immediately and fixed the settings.

now that i think about it, maybe i could try it again to see if it runs windows, but 2.5 currently does the trick, and i dont really want to change the divider since it probably runs better @ 1:1.
i know it did with my athlon xp anyway.
l33t-g4m3r
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1976
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 2:54 am

Postposted on Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:10 am

My current settings, although I had to go from 1.425 to 1.45 vcore even thought SuperPi was indeed stable.

Image
Systems Admin for an international mining contractor.

Specialties: network security and monitoring, network design - VLANs, BOVPNs and WAN networking, AD / DNS / AD-aware services, Exchange 2003/2007, email archiving, many hats indeed.
Logan[TeamX]
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 10:28 am
Location: Sitting here, making sure you don't crash

Postposted on Sun Feb 19, 2006 2:28 pm

Not that I got into window, but today my bios said I had my 3700 939 at 5005mhz. When I checked my temps it was at 33c, so not only a high oc but a low temps as well. Well I kind of thought 5005mhz was a little high so I drop down to stock speeds.
Network theory sucks.
Deathright
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2205
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:19 am

Postposted on Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:49 pm

Well some my know about m bud matts comp.

S754 3000+ 2.0
VIA K8T800 Asus board
1Gb Cheap-O Ramm
9600XT

It never would overclock at all and I've grown some grey hairs on my young head over it.

Well I finally found out why and it's now sitting at a very cool and fast 2.5Ghz Congrats to me :)
Fastfreak39: I feel like they should change the phrase "jumping on the band wagon" to "sailing on the pirate ship"
Philldoe
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2791
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Turn around...

Postposted on Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:50 pm

Philldoe wrote:Well some my know about m bud matts comp.

S754 3000+ 2.0
VIA K8T800 Asus board
1Gb Cheap-O Ramm
9600XT

It never would overclock at all and I've grown some grey hairs on my young head over it.

Well I finally found out why and it's now sitting at a very cool and fast 2.5Ghz Congrats to me :)

Figured out the dividers or something? Spare us the suspense please. :)
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24439
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Postposted on Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:48 pm

God knows why but when I would lower the Ramm to DDR333 and apply the OC to the HTT after the reboot it would reset the ramm to DDR400 and the Cheap-O ramm didnt like having an extra few Mhz added to it.

I flashed the BIOS to the latest version and now his 3000+ overclocks like a mofo. 2.5 after a bit of tinkering and now it seems fairly stable at 2.6.

Currently running a few tests on it. I doubt it will hold 2.6, it's an old S754 Clawhammer. Most CH cores that I have seen wont go past 2.5 stable. but his seems to be holding it's own.

I lucked out like a bastard with my S754 ClawHammer 3700+. she runs 3.0 like its stock speed,although very hot.
Fastfreak39: I feel like they should change the phrase "jumping on the band wagon" to "sailing on the pirate ship"
Philldoe
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2791
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Turn around...

Postposted on Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:10 pm

Just updated my mobo BIOS this morning. The wierd thing is that the BIOS is available through the "magic BIOS" utility, but I later smurfed to the mobo's webpage and there's no new BIOS liste there. ???

Anyway:

Sempron "Palermo" 2800 1.6 @ 2.4 = 50% OC

1.475 vcore

LDT=3

HT=300

I'm simply blown away by the OCability of this CPU.

It's only been Priming and Folding for 100 minutes so far so knock on wood.


:P
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:38 pm

Lets see how far back/how well I can remember...

AMD K6-233 -> 266
Slot-A Athlon 500 -> 700
Athlon 1333 -> ... I don't remember where I got with that one.
Athlon XP 2500+ 1.83 -> 2.4
P4-EE 3.2 -> 3.4

And I've just assembled a Opteron 170, which is priming away @ 2.5 as I type this, and I'm pretty sure it'll do more (is another thread about my experiences getting this thing going if yer curious).

That XP 2500+ I had was a great chip. It woulda gone faster too, but I was at the limit of the voltage I could get from the BIOS. It was water-cooled and still very cool at that speed, but I wasn't quite ready to start soldering resistors to the voltage-regulater on my MB for more voltage at the time (but I was close enuf that I'd done all the research on voltage-mods for my board, I just suck at soldering small things)

Edit:
My opteron has been running happily for a while now at 2.7 - I think its now pretty damn close to the final speed it'll end up staying at for the rest of its time in my office. I've had it post as high as 2.9, but I can't keep it stable at that speed.
Last edited by Cova on Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cova
Gerbil
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:50 pm
Location: Canada

Postposted on Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:38 am

hmm, got my 4400 to 2.65 with normal vcore (~1.48), didnt oc it yet on my expert as it is dead ;\

got my ram to ddr500 @ 2-2-2-0,1t, and everything else on tightest on the expert, was truly fun ;} only took 3.4 vdimm, the ocz's gold vx are freaking sweeT!
ASUS Maximus Forumla, Bios 1201 | Intel Q9450, 3 @ 1.25v | Mushkin REDLINE DDR2, 2X2048, 925MHz, 5-5-5-12 @ 2.05v | GeCube HD4870 512mb | SoundBlaster X-FI Extreme Music | 500GB+2X200GB W.D. | Antec P182 | OCZ GameXStream 600W
yfital
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:02 am

Postposted on Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:49 am

Ok great machines i see over here although i have a rocket which is 2.2GhZ at stock speed & which i have OC to woping 3.0 GHZ :P and DDR400 is OC till 550 MHZ..... What do u say friends..... And i have made a home made watercooling system with Internal mositurless AC (airconditioner).. to keep the beast cool. :D
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests