Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:18 pm

I recently bought a Q6600, GO stepping and it doesn't seem to like overclocking in the slightest. I can't get past 3GHZ and whenever it is overclocked the system feels pretty unstable, even though Prime says it's fine. I tried 1.45vore for 3.1ghz and the system wouldn't even post, but it'll post and run battfield fine at 3ghz on 1.3 volts...

Is this a power issue I'm looking at? Even my old E6420 got past 3ghz and these GO stepping are supposed to be able to reach at least 3.4 with around 1.35-1.4 volts
Q6600|Asus P5b Deluxe|Corsair VX550|4gb Cell Shock 6400|4890|320gb Seagate|Zalman 9700|2407WFP
Sikthskies
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:54 am
Location: England

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:25 pm

What is the mobo? What chipset is it running? I noticed that if the NB on P965, and P35 chipsets got too warm performance bogged down. I hear it's even worse on nVidia chipsets like 680i etc...
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:28 pm

The mobo is a P5b Deluxe. Plenty of references on the web of people getting 3.6ghz on this board
Q6600|Asus P5b Deluxe|Corsair VX550|4gb Cell Shock 6400|4890|320gb Seagate|Zalman 9700|2407WFP
Sikthskies
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:54 am
Location: England

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:33 pm

I hope not, but it could just be a crappy sample.

I have a G0 and I can't get my damn machine stable at anything above 2.7GHz. Buuuuut I also have slow RAM. Since memory is el cheapo I've been thinking of getting 8GB of something faster so that I'll have a better chance of getting a good overclock out of it.

Here's my machine:

Q6600 as above
ASUS P5N-e SLI w/nVidia chipset
4GB Kingston DDR2 800MHz
9800GTX
WD Caviar 500GB
535W Enermax PSU

And I could just have a crappy sample.
GO CARDINALS!
Rakhmaninov3
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 2:10 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:47 pm

You won't need anything faster than DDR2 800.
I've used the P5B deluxe in the past. Make sure you have a little extra voltage to your NB and make sure you set the memory ratios lower, so that the memory doesn't hold you back when you are upping the FSB frequency.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:50 pm

What would be a higher than normal NB? 1.45?
Q6600|Asus P5b Deluxe|Corsair VX550|4gb Cell Shock 6400|4890|320gb Seagate|Zalman 9700|2407WFP
Sikthskies
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:54 am
Location: England

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:02 pm

I don't recall. But there is only like 4 settings I think. Unless you are doing some heavy OC, the second highest setting should be fine. 1.375 if memory serves ( which it probably doesn't ). The Asus BIOS doesn't allow you to get all that aggressive though, so it's not a huge worry of burning the chip out or anything. If it feels abnormally hot maybe some active cooling on the NB will give you some better results. What do you have the memory frequency running at?

EDIT: A couple other things. Make sure you lock the PCI express frequency at 33.3MHz. In the CPU settings screen disable all features running on the CPU...and that's all I can think of for now.
Last edited by MaxTheLimit on Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:07 pm

Ram was clocked as near to 800 as I could get it, with a voltage of 2v. Something lke 820-840mhz. I can go up to just over 1000mhz on 2.1 volts
Q6600|Asus P5b Deluxe|Corsair VX550|4gb Cell Shock 6400|4890|320gb Seagate|Zalman 9700|2407WFP
Sikthskies
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:54 am
Location: England

Re: Problems Overclock Q6600 GO

Postposted on Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:29 pm

It is better to underclock, rather than overclock the ram. At least to start off with. If you want your ram a bit faster, once you have it stable tighten the timings in the memory configuration screen. This will have a larger effect over 20-40MHz frequency increase.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests