Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Starfalcon

Mystic-G
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author

NEWB Overclocking E8400 to 3.2 or 3.4GHz

Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:33 pm

I read a few guides but i still seem to be confused on what to do specifically step by step, I don't wanna accidentally screw something up in the BIOS settings. I'm using a Asus P5QL/EPU motherboard and 4GBs Kingston DDR2 value RAM 800Mhz. I'm completely new to this... I see a lot of gamers do it and I hear my CPU is pretty good at overclocking for the most part so I was curious to see how much extra performance I can squeeze out of it without having to worry about stabilization.

Mobo overview
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/P5QLEPU/

eliplan312
Gerbil

Re: NEWB Overclocking E8400 to 3.2 or 3.4GHz

Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:14 am

You'll easily be able to get that CPU to more than 3.4ghz stable. C2D's overclock really well, and I've gotten >1ghz overclocks with them. Given, you have to have good cooling, and you have to make sure your ram supports the higher fsb speeds.

Mystic-G
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author

Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:17 am

eliplan312 wrote:
You'll easily be able to get that CPU to more than 3.4ghz stable. C2D's overclock really well, and I've gotten >1ghz overclocks with them. Given, you have to have good cooling, and you have to make sure your ram supports the higher fsb speeds.

Well I have a Zalman 9500CNPS for cooling. As for the RAM, how do I find out if it supports higher FSB speeds or not?

And yes I understand I can get it over 3.4 stable but I don't wanna have to go through the process of stress testing and going back and modifying it 15 times to make it work, I'm new to this so I'd rather not dive in to the deep end from the get-go. lol

RAM model: KVR800D2N6K2/4G

eliplan312
Gerbil

Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:11 pm