CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:36 pm

I set my CPU and Case fans to User in BIOS and set the CPU fan to user in Asus Suite 2, it says it is running at 20% but that can't be right since its at 1600 RPM (max). The CPU fan stays at 1600 RPM and wont go down even though the temp is at 18 to 22 C, the heat is not on yet but its regularly around 21 to 25 at startup. FanExpert is what is controlling the fans in Asus Suite 2. Why wont the fan go down in RPM? I have an Asus P8P67 PRO rev 3.1, AH 50 CPU fan, i5-2500k factory default, 600T Corsair case.
Last edited by RAMBO on Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:06 pm

I have a 5 1/2 bay sentry fan controller with temp sensors.20 bucks happy with it.will run 5 fans
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:10 pm

Unless you are keeping your room at a really cold 60F your CPU temps seems too low. 18C is about 64F so I'm suspecting some kind of disconnect between the software and hardware. I'm not sure if there are updated version of the software or the BIOS but you can try that and see if that fixes anything. I'm also assuming that the fan for the radiator is a 4 pin fan connected to a 4pin CPU fan connecter on the mobo. You can also try a fan controller like vargis suggested.
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:27 pm

Heat is finally on, 22 to 26 start up temps, still at 1600 rpm even though it says its running at 21%.
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:46 pm

Is the fan a 3 pin or PWM 4 pin fan? If it is a 3 pin, does it have all 3 wires?
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11725
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:51 pm

Yeah, my guess is that either your monitoring software is messed up (e.g. reading one of your case fans instead of the CPU fan), or you've got a 3-pin fan plugged into a 4-pin PWM header (or vice-versa).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38094
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:01 pm

Starfalcon wrote:Is the fan a 3 pin or PWM 4 pin fan? If it is a 3 pin, does it have all 3 wires?

3 pin wire into 4 pin connector, crap. So no way of controling fan speed huh?
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:07 pm

RAMBO wrote:
Starfalcon wrote:Is the fan a 3 pin or PWM 4 pin fan? If it is a 3 pin, does it have all 3 wires?

3 pin wire into 4 pin connector, crap. So no way of controling fan speed huh?

Probably not. The way the PWM fan spec is designed, if you plug a non-PWM fan into a PWM header (or vice-versa), the fan runs at full speed all the time.

Some (but not many) motherboards have an option in the BIOS where they will emulate the PWM function by varying the voltage on the power lead of a 3-pin fan. Check your BIOS for any other options related to fan speed control.

Assuming your mobo does not have that feature, the only way you're gonna be able to control the fan is by replacing it with a 4-pin fan that supports PWM properly.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38094
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:02 pm

just brew it! wrote:
RAMBO wrote:
Starfalcon wrote:Is the fan a 3 pin or PWM 4 pin fan? If it is a 3 pin, does it have all 3 wires?

3 pin wire into 4 pin connector, crap. So no way of controling fan speed huh?

Probably not. The way the PWM fan spec is designed, if you plug a non-PWM fan into a PWM header (or vice-versa), the fan runs at full speed all the time.

Some (but not many) motherboards have an option in the BIOS where they will emulate the PWM function by varying the voltage on the power lead of a 3-pin fan. Check your BIOS for any other options related to fan speed control.

Assuming your mobo does not have that feature, the only way you're gonna be able to control the fan is by replacing it with a 4-pin fan that supports PWM properly.

Thanks, is it really that expensive to equip fans to have 4 pin connectors. It seems that it should be a standard nowadays. Feel as if I am missing something else that is required to have control of a fans speed.
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:14 pm

i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15593
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: CPU Fan has gone Skynet on me, help please

Postposted on Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:19 pm

RAMBO wrote:Thanks, is it really that expensive to equip fans to have 4 pin connectors. It seems that it should be a standard nowadays. Feel as if I am missing something else that is required to have control of a fans speed.

No, it is not expensive. If integrated into the fan itself, I would guesstimate that the necessary electronics represents less than a dollar's worth of additional components in the sort of volumes that major HSF manufacturers are moving. To back this up, if you look at the prices of PWM fans, they're not that different from the price of regular fans. Problem is, everyone's trying to shave off a few cents here and there (see: capacitor plague), so run-of-the-mill fans generally don't have the feature.

A few months ago I started a thread asking whether people would buy an aftermarket PWM fan adapter, with the idea that I might design and market such a device. Problem is, in order to cover the R&D and manufacturing costs of what would be a low-volume niche product (plus the fact that it costs a lot more to produce a stand-alone device with its own PCB, cables, and connectors versus integrating the electronics directly into the fan), I would probably need to charge more than most people are willing to pay.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38094
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer


Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest