Scsi/Raid controller will not go into Standby

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Scsi/Raid controller will not go into Standby

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 8:30 am

Have an Abit BL7 board with onboard Scsi/Raid (HPT 370/372)controller. Problem is my computer upon trying to enter standby mode gives an error: "Device driver Scsi/Raid controller is preventing machine from entering standby mode" ,I downloaded new driver from Highpoint but cannot get device manager to see it when "updating driver" what am I missing?
kpic
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:19 pm

Was there anything mentioning that the driver needed to be updated while in protected mode?
murray
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:36 pm

Not sure what protected mode is, but this was the first time I saw anything related to this. The drives connected to the raid ports work fine.
kpic
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 1:41 pm

Protected mode is the 286 backwards compatible architecture state the processor goes into while in DOS. If I remember correctly anyways. Most BIOS updates recommend going into "Protected Mode" (basically boot off of an old bootdisk or something if you have me/2k/xp) for flashing the BIOS. If the thing you have is just a driver, you don't need to worry about it.

If the file you have is a .zip, extract everything and see if you can find a .inf file in it all. If so, you can rightclick it and choose the "Install" option.
murray
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 3:17 pm

The .INF file does not have an install choice, but I did look further into the Readme file and turns out to be a XP problem. They state you should add the files after copying XP and before re-booting ,if you do not XP will install it's own drivers and not let you update or change them. Too bad I already installed a fresh copy of XP! Thank you Microsoft.
kpic
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 5:10 pm

Ok, reinstalled windows ,upon reinstalling I held down the F6 key this allowed me to install the Highpoint Drivers (although Microsoft recommended that I do not) everything works fine now! Thanks for the help.
kpic
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Tue Apr 09, 2002 5:13 pm

Glad you got it working, it seems you pretty much sorted it all out yourself.
murray
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests