Drive light stays on, k7s5a won't recognize WD 30GB

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Drive light stays on, k7s5a won't recognize WD 30GB

Postposted on Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:44 pm

:o This 30 GB Western Digital retail drive was working fine until the PC it was in just died (wouldn't turn on). AFter several motherboards, it was discovered that the video card apparently destroyed the motherboard, and two later ones. Eventually, the kind RMA people at Frys showed me that the k7s5a motherboard I had returned worked fine with another video card. I had long-ago taken out the WD hard drive and was just trying to get the friggin thing to beep and give me a POST screen.

When I reconnected the original hard drive, which had been sitting metal down on a desk, the mobo's HD light just stayed on solid, it paused a long time, and said there was no drive hooked up. Same thing on secondary controller. Another hard drive was detected fine.

Is there any possibility that this drive is salvageable? Is it possible that the reason this PC died in the first place is from a virus that attacked the HD and video card firmware? It seems awfully strange that the HD died the same time as a video card and a motherboard. Its 1.5 years old, so I suppose WD will send me another one.

Perhaps a more reasonable explanation is a power surge destroyed everything.
Petz
Gerbil
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:12 pm
Location: CA

Postposted on Thu Dec 12, 2002 10:26 pm

did you check the drive with WD's lifeguard tools to see if it is functional? That will tell you if it is hosed or not.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11692
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Good thought

Postposted on Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:53 am

Sounds like a long shot (Lifeguard Tools), since the BIOS doesn't even detect this drive, Lifeguard may not be able to access it. But I'll find that floppy and give it a try! Thanks.
Petz
Gerbil
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:12 pm
Location: CA

Postposted on Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:15 am

Well, if you can not get it to work, there is always the RMA.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11692
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Wed Dec 18, 2002 11:21 am

This may sound foolish but make sure the jumpers on the HD are setup correctly. Western Digital Drives have four (4) possible jumper settings, master only, master with slave, slave, or cable select. Failure to have the correct jumper set on a WD will normally cause the drive to be completly undetected.
Tanj
Gerbil
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:50 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Postposted on Wed Dec 18, 2002 7:59 pm

FWIW, I get the best results with the "Cable Select" setting with the WD1200JB. The BIOS does its auto-detect thing and moves on in almost no time compared to the delay if the drive is set to master without a slave present.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Wed Dec 18, 2002 9:11 pm

okay... drive light comes on, so its getting power.

is Pin 0 on the cable (the one painted red if you're using normal IDE cables) on the correct side?

WDs usualy have four jumper configurations. they're quite picky. is it set correctly? Master and Master with Slave are more fickle than one would imagine.

if all else fails, maybe its hosed.
deedude
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: l33tVille

Postposted on Sun Dec 22, 2002 11:13 pm

(sorry for delay - I started this thread from work & then went on vacation)

For sure, the cable is not backwards -- stripe towards power connector. The other end must be right because another drive is detected properly by BIOS. I now believe the drive, and everything in this computer was hosed by a power surge -- the motherboard, possibly the CPU, power supply, video card and HD are all bad. I'll RMA it to Western Digital. Its my son's computer and the disk contained mostly his online music collection, which can be replaced over time.
Petz
Gerbil
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:12 pm
Location: CA

Postposted on Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:14 pm

Petz wrote:(sorry for delay - I started this thread from work & then went on vacation)

For sure, the cable is not backwards -- stripe towards power connector. The other end must be right because another drive is detected properly by BIOS. I now believe the drive, and everything in this computer was hosed by a power surge -- the motherboard, possibly the CPU, power supply, video card and HD are all bad. I'll RMA it to Western Digital. Its my son's computer and the disk contained mostly his online music collection, which can be replaced over time.


That's not cool. You shouldn't RMA it since it's your fault for not protecting the system with a surge suppressor.
blockhead
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 9:50 pm
Location: Melbourne, FL USA


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests