Blue screen

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Blue screen

Postposted on Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:51 pm

When i put a cd into my Ricoh cd-r/rw the screen goes blue with a big error message .
Does any one know whats happend
It was ok on Tuesday
ricohman
Gerbil
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 3:35 pm
Location: UK

Postposted on Thu Jan 09, 2003 1:38 pm

We need a bit more info......

what OS?
what CD?
what the error message says?

and anything else you might think will be helpful.
For those that fought for it, freedom has a taste that the protected will never know.
-Unknown Veteran
Hoser
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8296
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: In a lab playing with germs, or waking people up at 6am so I can stick a needle in them

Blue screen

Postposted on Thu Jan 09, 2003 3:17 pm

Win 98 OS

Any CD

Error message reads:

A fatal exception OE has occurred at 0028-00000003.The current application will be terminated.
Press any key to continue.
ricohman
Gerbil
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 3:35 pm
Location: UK

Postposted on Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:05 pm

AAAAHHHH, the good old BSOD. :x

Havn't had one since I left 98 behind and went to 2K. :P

try doing a search in the micrsoft knowledge base for any similar problems they have encountered in their support lines.

My guess would be that is your cd drive. Swap it out with another one and see if the same thing happens.
If not, then take back the drive and get it replaced.
If it does happen again, I'd say it's got something to do with your OS.
For those that fought for it, freedom has a taste that the protected will never know.
-Unknown Veteran
Hoser
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8296
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: In a lab playing with germs, or waking people up at 6am so I can stick a needle in them

Postposted on Sat Jan 11, 2003 4:25 am

My other cd rom works fine
Been on Microsoft knowledge pages with no luck
My cd-r/rw is only 2 years old it cant be F##ked already can it??
ricohman
Gerbil
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 3:35 pm
Location: UK

Postposted on Sat Jan 11, 2003 6:34 am

sounds like it maybe the problem.

can you try it in another system to see if it works?
if it doesn't work there, then that is definitely the reason for you BSOD.
For those that fought for it, freedom has a taste that the protected will never know.
-Unknown Veteran
Hoser
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8296
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: In a lab playing with germs, or waking people up at 6am so I can stick a needle in them


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests