Samsung Magician necessary?

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:15 pm

I have owned Intel and Crucial SSDs. Now I am looking at Samsung's. I have read about potential issues with the Magician software. Intel's own SSD tools never gave me any issues. I would like some general opinions on:
- Do I really need to install it?
- Can I install it, configure the SSD, and then uninstall it?
- Do I need to keep it running to take advantage of the overprovisioning and cache in RAM features (for the EVOs I believe)?
- What is the performance impact if I don't enable those fancy features and use it like the Crucial's which have no special tools?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 25040
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:16 pm

I've used the Magician software for a year and a half now and haven't had any issues. It's nice because it tells you when a new firmware update has come out and gives you a bunch of auto adjustments for the SSD just like the Intel software. I used to be an Intel SSD person until I switch to Samsung.
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:38 pm

It is not a bad piece of software... was useful for migrating from 1 SSD to another.

On boot it requires admin escalation which is annoying.

I've had no issues, other than it did not migrate that little 100MB partition right and I had to repair it after noticing my backups were failing.
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:49 pm

I've read elsewhere that it's not necessary, for some reason mine doesn't launch at boot. Too lazy to look up a source.

I open it when I remember, but that's not exactly often.
i7 3820 @ 4.4, Custom Water Loop | ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 16GB 1638mhz CL9
GTX970 @ 1500 | BenQ 24" 120Hz | 2x Samsung 840 250GB | 2x2TB HDKPC09 | Win 10 Pro x64
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | Sennheiser HD555 | Corsair TX850V2 | Fractal Arc Midi R2
Prestige Worldwide
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:57 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:54 pm

Prestige Worldwide wrote:I've read elsewhere that it's not necessary, for some reason mine doesn't launch at boot. Too lazy to look up a source.

I open it when I remember, but that's not exactly often.


Yeah, i turned mine off on boot. Mine doesn't require admin either, though. It's really not a bad application. Seems to work okay for the most part.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 980 Ti - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 24" IPS - Win10 Pro x64
2015 13" rMBP El Capitan
Sony RX100
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2525
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:58 pm

never had any issues with magician
definitely not the issues mentioned in the quoted thread (and i am running an nvidia card also)
Image
f0d
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:07 pm
Location: austrALIEN

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Necessary? No. Useful? Yes.

You certainly don't need to keep it running all the time; you don't even need to install it to configure your SSD -- everything it does for you can be done manually if you know where to find the options in Windows (eg to make sure indexing / superfetch / defrag is off) and the steps you need to take (eg "overprovisioning" by creating a volume that doesn't take up the entire free space). And other tools (eg Reflect) can do a better job at things like migration. I went out of my way to make sure Magician doesn't launch automatically (I prefer to have as little running as possible), and I chose not to have it "optimize" things because I want indexing turned on and have no problem with superfetching. But I left it installed so that I can launch it to check total writes and health info (SMART data is unfortunately far from standardized, so the best tool for checking storage health is the one produced by your drive mfr).

You may need it for the EVO caching feature (I don't have an EVO) but I would expect that's actually a driver-level functionality and while Magician may provide a UI to enable/tune it, it's not actually required to be running all the time. (At least, that would be the sensible way to design it but Samsung's software people -- like those for many hardware-first companies --- are frequently far from sensible).
UberGerbil
Grand Admiral Gerbil
 
Posts: 10154
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:31 pm

UberGerbil wrote:You certainly don't need to keep it running all the time; you don't even need to install it to configure your SSD -- everything it does for you can be done manually if you know where to find the options in Windows (eg to make sure indexing / superfetch / defrag is off) and the steps you need to take (eg "overprovisioning" by creating a volume that doesn't take up the entire free space). And other tools (eg Reflect) can do a better job at things like migration. I went out of my way to make sure Magician doesn't launch automatically (I prefer to have as little running as possible), and I chose not to have it "optimize" things because I want indexing turned on and have no problem with superfetching. But I left it installed so that I can launch it to check total writes and health info (SMART data is unfortunately far from standardized, so the best tool for checking storage health is the one produced by your drive mfr).
I do want indexing and superfetching too as they work fine back when I had the Intel and now Crucial SSDs. Disable auto-launch and telling it to not optimize things can be done from their GUI or do I need to use dark wizardry like msconfig and/or registry hacks?

UberGerbil wrote:You may need it for the EVO caching feature (I don't have an EVO) but I would expect that's actually a driver-level functionality and while Magician may provide a UI to enable/tune it, it's not actually required to be running all the time. (At least, that would be the sensible way to design it but Samsung's software people -- like those for many hardware-first companies --- are frequently far from sensible).
The EVO caching feature sounds good and scary at the same time. Good in that the performance gains seem to be tangible. Scary in that this is most likely driver-level stuff that I don't trust Samsung enough to do a good job of it. Writing good drivers is hard. I don't want that to affect the stability of my system. The currently running deal at the 'egg with the 500GB drive using the promo code is very tempting. :P
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 25040
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:41 pm

Flying Fox wrote:I have owned Intel and Crucial SSDs. Now I am looking at Samsung's. I have read about potential issues with the Magician software. Intel's own SSD tools never gave me any issues. I would like some general opinions on:
- Do I really need to install it?
- Can I install it, configure the SSD, and then uninstall it?
- Do I need to keep it running to take advantage of the overprovisioning and cache in RAM features (for the EVOs I believe)?
- What is the performance impact if I don't enable those fancy features and use it like the Crucial's which have no special tools?

I'm also interested to know whether it needs to be running for RAM cache and overprovisioning. As for my earlier thread, I recently updated Magician from 4.3 to 4.4 and noticed a few different behaviors:

  • Magician now launches at startup. It didn't before, and I can't find any settings regarding it
  • There is no UAC prompt when opening from the tray if launched automatically at startup, but if Magician is closed and re-launched it will produce a UAC prompt
  • The "Full Screen Bug" no longer affects the majority of Steam games, but still affects GTA IV and a few emulators. This is even more bizarre, as there's some unknown factor that I can't determine. Closing Magician still fixes the problem in all cases.
The Egg
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:06 am

Magician is useful to initially configure your SSD after that I just forget about it.
And I neither want nor need it to load in at start up.

The Egg wrote:Magician now launches at start up. It didn't before, and I can't find any settings regarding it


There is now a scheduled task to run the executable at start up.
Disable this task at start up as well as stopping the startup entry.

Look in Task Scheduler for the task.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX R9 390 | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:24 am

IAmGhostDog wrote:
The Egg wrote:Magician now launches at start up. It didn't before, and I can't find any settings regarding it


There is now a scheduled task to run the executable at start up.
Disable this task at start up as well as stopping the startup entry.

Look in Task Scheduler for the task.

Easy enough. I hadn't bothered to look into forcefully preventing it from loading, I just think they should have an in-program option so users can easily enable/disable the feature.
The Egg
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:41 am

IAmGhostDog wrote:Magician is useful to initially configure your SSD after that I just forget about it.
And I neither want nor need it to load in at start up.

The Egg wrote:Magician now launches at start up. It didn't before, and I can't find any settings regarding it


There is now a scheduled task to run the executable at start up.
Disable this task at start up as well as stopping the startup entry.

Look in Task Scheduler for the task.

Do you use the EVO caching feature?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 25040
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:15 pm

You don't need to use it.
Having used plenty of EVOs without it I'm not even sure it's possible to notice the difference the cacheing is supposed to give you.
This is my signature. There are many like it, but this one is mine. However, my signature is neither my best friend, nor is it my life. I also have no desire to master it and my worth is not signature-dependent.
Chrispy_
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3302
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Europe, most frequently London.

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:01 am

Flying Fox wrote:Do you use the EVO caching feature?

Not this go round.
When I 1st got my SSD I did RAPID Mode, Over Provisioning, OS optimization just because I was so new to the whole SSD thing.
Having just rebuilt my rig from the ground up with new mobo/CPU, clean install of Windows, all I've done is the OS optimization.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX R9 390 | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:37 pm

Whilst I feel reasonably assured that using Maximum Reliability optimisation was the best choice for me. I think it is ridiculous that Windows Backup and Windows Search get disabled – I first found out about the latter when I went to search for emails from a particular client in Outlook. The greyed (blued) out items are a bit confusing too and there is a complete lack of consequential information. Hopefully, I will not have any more Samsung induced toils on my time.

The cloning software also has issues. I don't recall the exact errors, but I was getting continuous popup error messages that could only be stopped by shutting the program down in Task Manager. I ended up using a Windows system image instead.
chrisbowyer
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:28 pm

Not needed. I've never used it on my 830s. The "tweaks" it offers negatively impact the customer versus help them.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3927
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:36 pm

Same here I tried it out once with a Samsung 850 EVO 256 GB I bought last month on sale for $80.00. The Samsung Magician software to me seemed to be harmful to Windows 10, and the performance appeared negatively impacted. I reverted the changes, and uninstalled.
Image
biffzinker
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:53 pm
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:59 pm

biffzinker wrote:Same here I tried it out once with a Samsung 850 EVO 256 GB I bought last month on sale for $80.00. The Samsung Magician software to me seemed to be harmful to Windows 10, and the performance appeared negatively impacted. I reverted the changes, and uninstalled.


If you are referring to the optimisation choices, how did you revert the changes? I couldn't find a proverbial magic button to turn my choice off.
chrisbowyer
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Fri Jun 10, 2016 12:26 am

I flipped the settings that were changed back to how they were before. You can also go back to an older System Restore save point to undo the changes.
Image
biffzinker
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:53 pm
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:00 am

WinKey+R, "dfrgui". Click optimize, you'll feel better.
blahsaysblah
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:35 pm

Re: Samsung Magician necessary?

Postposted on Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:24 am

blahsaysblah wrote:you'll feel better.

Not quite, it doesn't have the same satisfaction as defragmenting a hard disk drive. :P
Image
biffzinker
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:53 pm
Location: Anchorage, Alaska


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests