That stupid "what do you want to do" box in XP Pro

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

That stupid "what do you want to do" box in XP Pro

Postposted on Sun Apr 07, 2002 6:52 pm

PLEASE - can anyone tell me if there is a way in XP Pro to rid myself of this damned thing, you know, that idiotic box that pops up and asks you what you want to do with the contents of the disk.

I want the CD to autorun for CD's and for installing software, but I do not want that think popping up all the bloddy time - it annoys me to an incredible degree.

I only put it in tonight, I hope there are no more of these sort of things in it or I will go back to 98.
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Sun Apr 07, 2002 7:50 pm

Don't worry, it's just the Shadows asking you to hand over your soul for the power to destroy the Narns
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20549
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Postposted on Sun Apr 07, 2002 7:58 pm

Could be worse I suppose - could be a bloddy Soulhunter LOL
:D :D
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Sun Apr 07, 2002 9:28 pm

Well, I use XP Home, but I imagine this part is the same.

1) you should have the option, when it gives you that pop up windown, of choosing "Take no action" and then checking the "Always perform the selected action" box. That shoudl make so it never asks again.

2) if that doesn't work, you can go into My Computer, right click on the drive whose settings you want to change, Properties, and then go to the "Autoplay" tab. Change settings from there should fix use of that drive, then you can repeat for any other drives.
technophile
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 7:00 pm


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests