Just installed XP Pro

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Postposted on Thu Jan 17, 2002 9:03 pm

It asked me to activate it I thought you didn't have to activate Pro.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postposted on Thu Jan 17, 2002 10:00 pm

havta activate all versions cept for corporate.
RandomNull
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 6:00 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 18, 2002 9:24 am

To clarify:
Regardless of whether you have WindowsXP Home or WindowsXP Pro, if you bought the copy retail or OEM, you have to activate. If you have a corporate copy of WindowsXP Pro, you do not have to activate. (I'm not currently aware of any corporate copies of WinXP Home).
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI

Postposted on Sat Jan 19, 2002 5:55 pm

Or unless you feel like sorting through sites like astalavista.box.sk to find a workaround of some sort... How badly do you want not to register? :wink:

EO
ExcessOrder
Gerbil
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Hamilton, NY

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2002 2:45 pm

There's a keygen out that can gen 4-5 keys for one night's work. You can phone it in and it works. Sounds like a pretty big flaw on M$'s part.
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Back east


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests