XP made me reactivate...

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Postposted on Wed Feb 06, 2002 10:34 am

After dropping in a 8kha+ to replace my aging Abit KT7. At first XP didn't make me reactivate. But, I always do a OS reinstall when replacing a motherboard, so I did a format and a reinstall of XP, and tried to activate via the internet. It told me that the product key had already been activated, yadda yadda, call Microsoft.

So I called MS and got a very polite guy who asked me what the problem was. I told him, he gave me some very long number to punch into the box on my screen and XP was re-activated. Then he asked if he could have my name and address-HA! I told him no.

So, the good and the bad after this experience:

Good:
Re-activation was easy and I didn't get the 3rd degree

Bad:
This is going to get to be a pain in the butt. What happens when I upgrade hardware in the next year or so and have to phone in again, or do an OS reinstall? When does MS pull the plug and say NO, we aren't going to reactivate you because we think you are a pirate.

Any thoughts?
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Sun Mar 03, 2002 9:04 pm

Does it say anything in the EULA about how many times you can activate?
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Back east


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ken and 2 guests