Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:26 pm

Ergh, glad I kept my Vista DVD...

After receiving my copy of Windows 7 from PC World on launch day, I have (up until now) been very impressed with it. Fast, hassle free, and everything worked right out the box. However, taking no chances with my licence key activation attempts, I was going to let the OS run thru 14 of it's 30 days "trial" period before activating it (Check my PC's ok with it, and no need to re-format etc). I had put the key in at the end of the installer, but told it not to auto-activate when I am online.

But today, I thought what the heck, it's running all my games and progs perfectly, just activate it. Uh oh....

"You may be a victim of softare counterfieting" is what come up after 20 secconds or so when I tried the online activation. The wallpaper swiftly disappeared, Aero was disabled, and just above my clock is "Windows 7, Build 7600. This copy of Windows is not genuine".

Straight on the phone to Microsoft, and a technical agent got me to install something from the MS support site and connect to her with a unique session ID. First time I called on technical support, and had the agent remote access my machine. Good idea in theory, but she could not get the software to activate after a few tries. She checked a few other bits of the PC, and then asked quite a few questions about what the DVD's look like, the licence number on card inside, how many DVD's in the box, some details off the COA, details of the place purchased, and my name and address etc. Trying to catch me out or something?

She confirmed my licence key was genuine, but has been placed on some sort of black-list - Hence it wont activate. She said she would need to investigate further why it is on there, and will call me back within 24 hours. Great, so to summarise:

- She never got my licence key to work
- Never gave me a new one (If they can)
- Suspects I have been up to no good

Anyone else had this, and are they likley to call back? I've got a £150 box of Windows 7 Ultimate that is not doing a great deal at the moment. Guilty until proven innocent it appears, because PC world sell a lot of fake software dont they? :roll:
Mini Beast - Intel C2QE QX9770 (4.2 Ghz) | Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 | 8GB DDR3 1066 | KFA2 GTX 750 Ti | Seagate 2TB SSHD
Mega Beast - AMD FX-8350 (4.7 Ghz) | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 1600 | XFire R9 290X | Sandisk X300S 512GB
geekl33tgamer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:39 pm

Image

Sorry, that was the best I could think of at the moment.

Jokes aside, hope you get it corrected. Everyone's a pirate! :P
"No I don't want the Ask toolbar! No I don't want Bing as my default search! No I don't want to make Chrome my default browser!"
"Good grief, man! WHAT are you trying to install on that poor computer?"
"Antivirus."
kvndoom
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:47 pm
Location: Communistwealth of Virginia

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:40 pm

I heard several stories of WPA headaches among legit users.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC-12800, EVGA 660Ti, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
Krogoth
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:54 pm

Hmm, Ubuntu never failed to activate.
bdwilcox
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:21 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:22 pm

I wonder if it's possible that license itself somehow leaked, so that they blacklisted it because pirates had been using it?
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H | Core i7 3770 | 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600| Samsung 830 128GB SSD | Gigabyte HD7950 3GB | Win 7 Pro x86-64
CampinCarl
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:53 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:50 pm

Looks like you are not alone with those initial teething problems.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24422
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:40 pm

bdwilcox wrote:Hmm, Ubuntu never failed to activate.

I did have a lot of trouble getting the 9.10 beta to install though. (This seems to have been corrected in the RC, so I'll still be evaluating whether to move my primary desktop to 9.10 as soon as the official release is out.)
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37705
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:16 pm

Update: They called me back!

Then I lolled at her explanation... She said my licence key has been activated (before they blocked it) on many computers, in different countries (Really?). It's not quite clear cut tho - I still have not got a working licence key. Going back to that guilty until proven innocent scenerio mentioned earlier, I am required (at my own expense) to send the item back to them + a copy of the sales receipt so it can be inspected. She said this was to "verify the authenticity of the software". Basically, she thinks I am lying then? I had a go at her for a bit on the phone after being accused of software piracy, and agreed to send it to them.

Before doing so, I have taken a picture of the product box. Those genuine fakes that PC World sell consumers these days are amazing. It looks just like an original :roll:

Image
Mini Beast - Intel C2QE QX9770 (4.2 Ghz) | Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 | 8GB DDR3 1066 | KFA2 GTX 750 Ti | Seagate 2TB SSHD
Mega Beast - AMD FX-8350 (4.7 Ghz) | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 1600 | XFire R9 290X | Sandisk X300S 512GB
geekl33tgamer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:20 pm

Fun times, hopefully Redmond wises up.
X __________________________
khands
Graphmaster Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:32 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:42 pm

"Welcome to your PC, simplified."
x--x--x--x
Spyder22446688
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 12:28 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:44 pm

bdwilcox wrote:Hmm, Ubuntu never failed to activate.


Quote of the day.
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:10 pm

Take it back to PC World for a replacement, explaining the problems you've had with Microsoft. Under UK law the vendor is responsible for providing a functional product, which they have failed to do. Even though this was strictly out of their control, they're still obliged to correct the problem and then deal with Microsoft as their supplier. This should be quicker and cheaper than having to return discs to MS yourself.
Q9550@3.4 ~ Asus P5E ~ 4GB XMS2-6400C5DHX ~ Gigabyte Windforce 3X 7950 3GB
Xigmatek S1283 ~ LG DVDRW ~ Samsung F3 1TB ~ WD Caviar SE 640GB ~ Asus Xonar DX ~ Corsair HX 520W
Antec P182 ~ Logitech G7/G15/G25 ~ Sennheiser HD555 ~ BenQ FP241W
MrJP
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:04 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:21 pm

MrJP wrote:Take it back to PC World for a replacement, explaining the problems you've had with Microsoft. Under UK law the vendor is responsible for providing a functional product, which they have failed to do. Even though this was strictly out of their control, they're still obliged to correct the problem and then deal with Microsoft as their supplier. This should be quicker and cheaper than having to return discs to MS yourself.


Good idea, First though, take a sceenshot of the "Invalid keycode message", print it and take that with you when you take it back.Only speak to the manager though and not the minions that'll only go by the company's non-return software policy crap.
Dav27
Gerbil
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 2:38 pm
Location: U.K

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:25 pm

Spyder22446688 wrote:"Welcome to your PC, simplified."

Yep. Not working......Doesn't get any simpler than that!!!
Dav27
Gerbil
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 2:38 pm
Location: U.K

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:01 pm

Everyone who is going to wait for the bugs to get fixed before buying new software appreciates the pain and suffering of you early adopters out there. :lol:
"No I don't want the Ask toolbar! No I don't want Bing as my default search! No I don't want to make Chrome my default browser!"
"Good grief, man! WHAT are you trying to install on that poor computer?"
"Antivirus."
kvndoom
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:47 pm
Location: Communistwealth of Virginia

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:03 pm

kvndoom wrote:Everyone who is going to wait for the bugs to get fixed before buying new software appreciates the pain and suffering of you early adopters out there. :lol:


LOL :lol:
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.0GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970| 12 GB RAM| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60".
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4599
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:09 pm

hehe, my laptop just asked me to validate windows 7 on startup, which i had done months ago. it cleared immediately as soon as i pressed "validate now". quirky windows is quirky.
moriz
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 am

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:02 pm

The RTM version and MSDN keys had some trouble validating on a few installs via the web, although a call to the microsoft phone service validated correctly. Funny enough. There was ALOT of numbers to get back after having put in ALOT of numbers. Having a slow phone that day was annoying. Although that was early september, so i really cant blame them.
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:42 pm

Was your copy of Windows completely sealed when you received it?
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:29 pm

Just got my copy .... "the product key is not valid"
we're off to a good start! :evil:

If Bill Gates was here I'd just punch him in the face.
and then kick him in the crotch.

and i'm not even trying to activate yet... just typing in the freaking key :roll:
You don't have to feel safe to feel unafraid.
danny e.
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4373
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 3:09 pm
Location: Indonesia/Nebraska/Wisconsin

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:12 pm

danny e. wrote:Just got my copy .... "the product key is not valid"
we're off to a good start! :evil:

If Bill Gates was here I'd just punch him in the face.
and then kick him in the crotch.

and i'm not even trying to activate yet... just typing in the freaking key :roll:

Supposedly the font used to print the product key can make "B" and "8" look nearly identical. Any chance this is your issue?

Failing that... maybe it's time for you to give Ubuntu a try! :wink:
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37705
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:38 pm

danny e. wrote:If Bill Gates was here I'd just punch him in the face.
and then kick him in the crotch.

Shouldn't that be Ballmer?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24422
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:42 pm

danny e. wrote:Just got my copy .... "the product key is not valid"

*snip* wrong thread
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:38 am

just brew it! wrote:Supposedly the font used to print the product key can make "B" and "8" look nearly identical. Any chance this is your issue?
No, it turned out to be user error. Or, as he put it,
danny e. wrote:I guess the lesson here is "dont install angry"
I think this means Bill Gates gets to go over to his house and kick him in the crotch. Which probably isn't necessary, since he can afford to pay for people to do that for him. Ballmer can afford that too, but I think he'd enjoy the whole kicking part too much to delegate it.
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9980
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:07 am

ChronoReverse wrote:Was your copy of Windows completely sealed when you received it?

Yes it was - Shrink wrap was covering the whole box, so no one had opened it. Also, the COA label on the top breaks into 2 pieces when the box is opened, and that was also in one piece. I don't think the store can be accused of doing anything "dodgy". :)

As for the store itself, I went there as soon as they opened at 9AM this morning. I should mention first of all that PC world have a policy that says software can not be exchanged once opened, unless faulty. Expecting to have to stand my ground a bit with the guy at customer services, I was pretty direct with him at first. :-? As I had removed W7 from the PC yesterday (Before seeing another users commments about taking a screenshot of the problem), I had nothing to show him.

He went to get the manager on duty, and I had to re-explain the whole scenario. He said they would need to test the software on one of thier machines, and replicate the issue witht he licence key. Politely pointing out that I dont want to wait 30 minutes for you to install it, I then remembered I was sent an email from Microsoft while I was on the support call. It had the case number, the agents name and what the problem is. I only live 3 minutes from the store in the car, so rushed back to print the email.

Showed it to the same manager, and after a bit more complaining from me, he agreed an exchange. :D Only one issue, when he went to get another, he was out of stock. He said he only had full versions of W7 Pro, or an upgrade edition of W7 Ultimate. As W7 Ultimate (full) was being sold for the same price as the Pro box on launch day from this same store, I wanted the same verison I had originally purchased (lol, he looked pretty peed off at this point). He then said I could go to another store that has some and collect it (Nearest store is almost 40 miles away), or I could wait for more stock to arrive.

As I am in no hurry to go back to W7 for the time being, I took the last option. He gave me a refund of sorts - I have a Pc world "Gift Card" pre-loaded witht he cash equivalent of £160 (£10 more than I paid, as it's gone up since the launch day price of £150). When new stock arrives at the store, I just go back and use that to buy another one.

Not bad I guess, but at least i don't have to post it back to Microsoft. I also got to enjoy a fresh install of Vista all over again, with extra enjoyment pain thrown in as my Vista DVD is one of the first ones, and does not have SP1 or 2 on it. Fun times... :(
Mini Beast - Intel C2QE QX9770 (4.2 Ghz) | Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 | 8GB DDR3 1066 | KFA2 GTX 750 Ti | Seagate 2TB SSHD
Mega Beast - AMD FX-8350 (4.7 Ghz) | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 1600 | XFire R9 290X | Sandisk X300S 512GB
geekl33tgamer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:37 pm

rcs2k4 wrote:He went to get the manager on duty, and I had to re-explain the whole scenario. :(


I did advise you to go straight to the manager. You see i never trust PCWorld staff ever since i asked the manager at my local branch, some time back, if they sold thermal compound to which he replied "What's that?"

At least you got some sort of resolution on the issue.
Dav27
Gerbil
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 2:38 pm
Location: U.K

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:29 pm

Glad they sorted it out for you. If you have a nearby Currys or Dixons it might be worth trying there as well for a replacement copy. Since they are all part of the same group as PC World, they should take the PC World gift card as payment.
Q9550@3.4 ~ Asus P5E ~ 4GB XMS2-6400C5DHX ~ Gigabyte Windforce 3X 7950 3GB
Xigmatek S1283 ~ LG DVDRW ~ Samsung F3 1TB ~ WD Caviar SE 640GB ~ Asus Xonar DX ~ Corsair HX 520W
Antec P182 ~ Logitech G7/G15/G25 ~ Sennheiser HD555 ~ BenQ FP241W
MrJP
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:04 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Windows 7: Apparently, my copy is not genuine?

Postposted on Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:13 pm

Glad it worked (sorta) out.
My advice in these situations is to just logic the living daylights out of both Managers.
Place the onus on them, in a way they will capitulate.
MS should have hooked you up with another copy in the end, and thanked you for exposing the VL that was being abused.
:wink:
C2Q Q9300 @ 400 FSB | P5Q Deluxe | 8GB's DDR2 800 | Radeon HD 6870 1GB | PCIe RevoDrive 120, 2TB Black, 2TB Green | Dell SP2309W + 2007FP | Pioneer BDR-205 | x64 Vista
DrDillyBar
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests