New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:08 pm

Hi All, I installed a new ASUS P5N-T MB and get a BSOD during Windows Startup right after the four colored squares swirl around and get fuzzy.

I have tried starting in Safe Mode and I get the same result. Any suggestions?

I have Windows 7 X64. My old MB was a Gigabyte.

I have a Q6600, 4GB or Ram, onboard sound & Lan, EVGA 8800 GTS video card.

All worked fine on the Gigabyte. I had issues of restarting after a shutdown so that's why I changed the MB. I had resorted to leaving my computer on continuously in order to ensure I wold be able to use the computer.
Last edited by jeffry55 on Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:10 pm

Did you reload Windows or just change the motherboard on an existing Win 7 installation?
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20117
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:06 pm

Sounds like ye olde AHCI/non-ACHI issue. In the Bios of the new motherboard, make sure you have the SATA controller set to the same as the old one - it's usually under some heading such as Integrated Peripherals, and may be called "SATA Control Mode" - the options will usually be IDE, RAID or AHCI. You'll probably want either IDE or AHCI - whichever one is selected now, try the other :).

Also, you sure it's not an ASUS P5N-T? I can't find any reference to an MSI board of that name.
i5-2500k @ 4.5ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V | nVidia GTX780 | 32gb DDR3| 2x SSDs 2x HDD | Antec Solo II | Dell U2713HM
Mentawl
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:16 pm

More to the point, those who don't want to be forever chasing down weird inconsistency issues (even once the IDE/RAID/AHCI issue is resolved) would heed the advice and simply reformat and reinstall Windows (of any version) upon a mobo change. It's the only way to be sure & safe.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20117
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:35 am

Captain Ned wrote: It's the only way to be sure & safe.


Repeat after me: Sysprep. Let go of the archaic ways. Welcome change.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:45 pm

Hi All,

Thanks for the input. I am trying the fresh install as suggested since every other effort has resulted in the same BSOD requesting I run CHKDSK.

You were right it is an ASUS MB.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:29 pm

The new install of Windows 7 did the trick. I did a fresh install on a new hard drive. So now I have two hard drives with Windows 7 installed. Th4e hard hard drive is in the PC but not powered up or connected.

Any suggestions on the best way to migrate programs, files, photos, videos, etc. from the old disk to the new disk? Both are western digital hard drives.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:31 pm

Windows Easy Transfer or USMT.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:43 pm

Agree with Ryu Connor, but can you install from your external back-up vs. the original drive?
Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit-Intel i7 965-Noctua NH-C12P-ASUS P6T Deluxe-Patriot Viper Xtreme 24GB DDR3 1600-SanDisk 240GB SSD-2 WD Velociraptors 300GB-WD RE3 1TB -Radeon 6970-ASUS Xonar Essence -LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray-Thermaltake W0133RU 1200W-CoolerMaster CM 832
Neutronbeam
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Re: New MB results in BSOD during Windows 7 X 64 Startup

Postposted on Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:11 pm

Neutronbeam wrote:Agree with Ryu Connor, but can you install from your external back-up vs. the original drive?
I do have an external Back-up drive. Let me check that out!

Thanks again for the help.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests