Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:59 am

Does anyone know of a replacement to this program? For some reason I seem to have found a bug in the 32 and 64bit edition where it doesn't seem to perfectly clone the files the way it should be.
I've tested multiple times and can re-create it consistently.

I want something which I can set up multiple pairs of folders to sync which I can then set Windows task scheduler to run the job from time to to time. I specifically use the echo function which is basically should be just making a precise copy of a folder from one directory to another location.

Can anyone recommend anything? I'd prefer graphical based (not robocopy)
It specifically needs to DELETE any files in the destination directory which aren't on the source directory (which Sync Toy seems to have a problem with)

Anyone?
AbRASiON
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:06 pm

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 2:10 am

Robocopy?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 2:38 am

AbRASiON wrote:
Can anyone recommend anything? I'd prefer graphical based (not robocopy)



:)
AbRASiON
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:06 pm

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 2:51 am

http://i.imgur.com/Ajxp4.png (Yes, this seems to consistently screw up - I suspect it's not deleting ALL files from the destination directory before initiating.)
AbRASiON
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:06 pm

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:35 am

I've been using Super Flexible FIle Synchronizer (PC+mac) for a few years and I find it useful and very flexible. (no pun intended)

http://www.superflexible.com/

I personally use it to do daily incremental backups with the built in scheduler and sync folders between my workstation and my server.
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:57 am

Hmmmm costs money :/ I have a tendency of only paying for open source software (donations) also they are charging a heck of an amount for a sync tool.
Thanks though.
AbRASiON
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:06 pm

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:40 am

http://www.2brightsparks.com/freeware/freeware-hub.html

Syncback works great for me. It's free too.
Retired!
gerbilspy
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 4:38 pm
Location: Southern Illinois

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:43 am

Syncrify is free for personal use and uses the rsync algorithms over http, so it's good for large files that are changed fairly frequently. Requires Java.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:22 am

boing
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:21 am
Location: Sweden, Europe

Re: Need a reliable replacement to Microsoft SyncToy 2.1

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:44 am

Have you tested on multiple systems? Corrupted copies aren't necessarily a sign of a software bug; it could also be due to flaky RAM or NIC.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36917
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest