Switching from AMD to Nvidia in Windows 8

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Switching from AMD to Nvidia in Windows 8

Postposted on Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:20 pm

Is there a secret? Am I just idiotically missing the "Uninstall" shortcut?

I going to try an Nvidia card to see if it fixes some issues I've been having in Windows 8. But first I need to figure out how to uninstall Catalyst Control Center.

Wise gerbils: share your wisdom.
Last edited by flip-mode on Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Uninstall Catalyst Control Center from Windows 8

Postposted on Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:30 pm

Control Panel > Programs> Programs and Features

Click AMD Catalyst Install Mangager and the Click "Change." From there the wizard will give you the option to uninstall CCC.
C10 250
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:13 am

Re: Uninstall Catalyst Control Center from Windows 8

Postposted on Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:28 pm

Heh, nice first post. Indeed, I did see the "Catalyst Install Manager" in Programs and Features, but I figured that was not the droid I was looking for. Thanks, I'll give it a try tomorrow when I get back to work.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Uninstall Catalyst Control Center from Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:54 am

All went smoothly.

Installing the Nvidia GTX 650 cleared up some application issues I was having. This is coming from an AMD FirePro - a card that's supposed to have an extremely high quality of driver. Shameful on AMD's part. I'm going to have to join the "AMD drivers suck" crowd. The FirePro on Windows 8 gave me issues in Adobe Photshop and Autodesk Revit. Both programs now behave perfectly well with the Nvidia card installed.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Uninstall Catalyst Control Center from Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:18 am

NVidia's drivers suck, too.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15426
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Uninstall Catalyst Control Center from Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:44 am

JustAnEngineer wrote:NVidia's drivers suck, too.


But they work. Fer crying out loud, a FirePro causes problems in Photoshop. That's totally and completely unacceptable. It's a FirePro. It supposedly has extensive driver QA.

Time will tell if I run into problems associated with Nvidia drivers. This is the first Nvidia card I've used in years, since the GeForce 7900 GS.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Switching from AMD to Nvidia in Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:50 am

Did you pass the information about your troubles with the Firepro on to AMD? I'm not sure exactly which market FirePro is being sold to (back when I was paying attention they were being pushed heavily to the CAD market but that's been a while.) I would expect if you told them they would get it fixed for the next release (assuming the fix isn't too difficult.) While I agree they should have it working the problem with any of these drivers is that there is so much that can be broken easily from one release to another that the only way to make sure everything works is to utilize the customers to inform them of any corner case they didn't catch.
nanoflower
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:10 pm

Re: Switching from AMD to Nvidia in Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:55 am

I probably should do that... That would be the helpful thing to do... I'll put that on my to-do list.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Switching from AMD to Nvidia in Windows 8

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:11 am

nanoflower wrote:I would expect if you told them they would get it fixed for the next release (assuming the fix isn't too difficult.)


You're dreaming. They still haven't fixed Pro/E bugs that have been reported to them for years.
Deanjo
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:31 am


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests