How do you edit Classic Shell?

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:23 am

I just installed Classic Shell on my W8.1 system and it looks awesome. The problem is, I want to edit what's on the menu and the only way I can find to do it is by right-clicking and dragging in the menu itself. Is there a better way, like in Explorer, to edit the Classic Shell menu?
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7417
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Re: How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:49 am

right-click the shell icon > properties, change what you like.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Wed Dec 25, 2013 5:18 am

You just right click the Start button or right click on "All Programs" and choose Open/Open All Users to edit shortcuts in Explorer in any way you want.
anonymuos
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:50 am

Re: How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:28 pm

Hi,

Here's how to change the Start button if you haven't figured it out (longer method no longer required for Classic Shell 3.9.1 & later, see above):

To change the Start button from the default button to a custom button,

1. Open Start Menu settings by right clicking the button.
2. If only basic settings are showing, enable all settings.
3. Go to the 'Start Button' tab.
4. To set your own button, click "Custom Button".
5. Then click on 'Button Image' and then click again on the [...] button next to it.
6. Browse to the Start button image of your choice. The image should have 3 states - normal, hot (mouse hovered state) and pressed. The image must be a 32-bit PNG or BMP (24-bit BMP may not show properly as it doesn't support transparency).
7. Setting the width of the button is optional. 0 means it will use the width of the button image as the size. You can override that by entering a custom width to make the Start button smaller or larger.
vembutech
Gerbil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:29 am

Re: How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:47 pm

Dude. Quit necro'ing old threads. It's really bad form to do it as often as you do.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45|Logitech MX 518 & F310|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3345
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: How do you edit Classic Shell?

Postposted on Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:21 pm

I'll bet $5 that this was part of a drunk forum post answering spree.
LASR
Gerbil
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:35 pm


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron