RDP dual monitors, win 7

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

RDP dual monitors, win 7

Postposted on Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:44 pm

Afternoon Gerbils,

I was reading that in order to span both monitors in RDP, you need windows 7 ultimate. My question is do both the target machine and machine that with be the one connecting need it, or just one? At work I have a really nice docking station setup that does everything I want. I frequently work from home when the weather is bad as my drive is already 45 minutes in sunshine. So normally on my desktop I'll remote to my laptop but I'm only able to use 1 monitor for this which is crap for productivity. At this time I cannot get work to swing for a home solution for me, but perhaps we have various licenses for win7 available for upgrade. Would I need both my laptop and desktop on ultimate to make this work?

thanks
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11916
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: RDP dual monitors, win 7

Postposted on Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:57 pm

I believe it's just the host machine that needs to have Win7 Ultimate. Shame that feature didn't make it into the professional versions.

I was also frustrated by this and now I end up fullscreening my work (host) machine on one monitor, and having a web browser/etc open on the local (client) machine. So I make do with essentially just 2 monitors at home.

You might also consider finding a 3rd party RDP application... I'm not sure what the options are like for multimonitor setups, though.
Duct Tape Dude
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:37 pm

Re: RDP dual monitors, win 7

Postposted on Fri Jan 03, 2014 2:08 pm

TeamViewer can do the Dual-Screen on as far as I know any version of Windows. TightVNC can as well, though I don't use it at all anymore.

Ooooh one thing to note about TeamViewer is that you sometimes have to shut down the service or certain games will refuse to run real Full Screen on Windows 8. It's one of those things that drives you nuts until you figure it out.

I'm not 100% sure about the latency/bandwidth with TeamViewer, but I have no issues accessing my PC in Tokyo from my house in Dallas other than the expected latency.
keltor
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: RDP dual monitors, win 7

Postposted on Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:42 am

The remote machine just needs to be Ultimate or Enterprise.
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests