Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, notfred

mxmaniac
Gerbil
Topic Author

Can you intentionally corrupt disks/files to practice recove

Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:54 pm

I am pretty new to Linux, but I would like to be able to practice recovering disks and files, especially in RAID arrays. Basically I would like to simulate various types of disk failures that may happen in a RAID array.

Is there any easy way to intentionally corrupt various things like the filesystem, or corrupt a few files on a single disk of a raid array? That way I can practice using tools like ****, mdadm and whatever other ones are out there to try and repair the damage?

I be doing all of this in virtual machines, so no worry about messing up the PC.

edit - the tool name above that got censored out is supposed to be the f s c k tool

Yan
Gerbil XP

Re: Can you intentionally corrupt disks/files to practice re

Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:21 am

The man page for the command that cannot be named suggests one way to deliberately corrupt a file system:

Note that in general it is not safe to run e2f s ck on mounted filesystems. The only exception is if the -n option is specified, and -c, -l, or -L options are not specified. However, even if it is safe to do so, the results printed by e2f s ck are not valid if the filesystem is mounted. If e2f s ck asks whether or not you should check a filesystem which is mounted, the only correct answer is ''no''. Only experts who really know what they are doing should consider answering this question in any other way.

Banning "f s c k" on a tech site is silly, obviously.

notfred
Maximum Gerbil

Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:14 am

I've asked to get f-s-c-k removed from the word filtering list.

To corrupt files you could work out where on the disk has the file and then overwrite bits of it with dd. Remember the disks are accessible as raw data e.g. /dev/sda1

LoneWolf15
Gerbil Elite

Sun Apr 12, 2015 10:03 am