Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, notfred

tdk2fe
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author

Newbie question about installing

Thu Apr 18, 2002 4:36 pm

Recently, I wanted to put Linux on my computer to play around with it. I've never really had any direct experience with linux, so I thought i'd get a couple of manuals and play around with it. Well, I tried three different installers (Redhat, Mandrake, and SuSe), and the problem I encountered with all three of them was, while the installer was running when I would first boot the computer, it seemed to load about halfway and then always freeze up. I tried a several different methods for installing, but to no avail.

This is the system i'm using:
Dell P3-800
512MB Crucial
30GB Quantum Fireball 7200

Any insight as to what my problem could be would really help me out. Thanks!

q_bot_w11
Gerbil

Thu Apr 18, 2002 4:43 pm

In mandrake installer (I am a newbie and have only used mandrake) there's an option not to start x when it first starts. (YOu start it with the command 'startx' afterwards). Try no starting x and see'f you can boot up properly like that....

Like I said - I am a newbie so can't really help you from there but it might be a start (maybe download a later version of XFree form there). Hopefully if that works the people who know what they're talking about can help you do that :)

prsha
Gerbil

Tue Apr 23, 2002 12:10 am

a few questions before you get your help ;)

1. do you have windows running on the HD you're installing linux onto?
-if so, is it taking the whole HD?
2. be more spicific on your problem, error message or what?

jamnog
Gerbil In Training

well im having a similar problem perhaps

Mon Jun 03, 2002 9:07 am