OpenGL and Linux

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2001 11:00 pm

After several months of working with getting OpenGL drivers installed I was kind of successful. I am using Mandrake 8.1 and the video card is a Geforce 2 Ti. The preinstalled OpenGL games run perfect. I tried a few demos suchs as Rune and Soldier of Fortune. With Rune I can change the resolution and texture options but I have no 32 bit color options. The game looks bad but runs fine. With Soldier of Fortune I cannot change anything. If I change the color, resolution, texture filtering, etc and apply it the screen flickers and stays black. I then have to reboot. Is there a reason why it is doing this? Also with X Windows I cannot change the resolution to anything other than 1280 * 768. If I do and test it the display settings show that I can't use that resolution. Any advice?
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2001 11:44 pm

Whew. Didn't pick an easy one for me, did you?

The first and main problem probably relates to the GF2 Ti itself. That's a very recent card, and support may not be up to snuff yet. If you're game, I'd like you to go get

http://205.158.109.140/XFree86_40/1.0-2 ... 3.i386.rpm

and

http://205.158.109.140/XFree86_40/1.0-2 ... p.i686.rpm

and install them using your method of choice. (Post again if you need help with RPMs, I have MDK8.1 here and can figure it out)

If that causes any problems with X not starting, then I'll need you to send me your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 for a check.

Hopefully that by itself should be enough to get you up and running.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7868
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Fri Dec 28, 2001 10:23 pm

I already did that. I had to do that in order to run the games in hardware acceleration.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Sat Dec 29, 2001 12:21 am

Damn. Let me check with a higher guru at Nv.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7868
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Fri Mar 08, 2002 5:12 pm

Have you played with the settings in /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 (Modes and monitor VertRefresh and HorizSync; look up your monitor's manual and spec sheet)? Do that. That at least ought to allow higher resolutions.

As for '32bpp' color, try setting 24 bit color instead, since 32bpp color is essentially 24bpp color with eight bits unused (sometimes used for alpha blending, but that's rare).
Prototyped
Gerbil
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Purgatory

Postposted on Fri Mar 08, 2002 8:15 pm

Thanks for the help. I fixed it a while ago. I edited the XF86Config-4 file and changed the resolution to 1024*768 and that forced 32bit color. Now RTCW and Quake 3 run fine. Someone in the #nvidia channel at irc.openprojects.net server had told me that whatever the color setting is for the desktop will carry over to any of the games. Unlike windows where you could have different color settings I suppose.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Apr 01, 2002 1:24 pm

Damn, I'm sorry. I ran off to #nvidia to ask for ideas and never remembered to come back and post those answers. I'm awfully sorry, man.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7868
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

cron