can't mount hdd on laptop

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

can't mount hdd on laptop

Postposted on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:00 pm

So I'm trying to boot some form of Linux off of a CD on a Dell laptop so that I can pull data off its hard drive. So far I've tried using the file utils and Linux boot disk options on the Ultimate Boot CD. Unfortunately, whenever I try to mount hda or hda1 from those apps, it tells me the device doens't exist or is not recognized.

Is there something special I have to do to mount hard drives off of a live install, or on a Dell laptop, or somethin'? Any help is appreciated.
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7330
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Postposted on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:06 pm

you could try mounting /dev/sda
enigma59
Gerbil
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:11 pm

Postposted on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:14 pm

cat /proc/partitions

That will tell you the currently recognized disk partitions and block devices.

fdisk -l /dev/sda (or /dev/hda or whatever valid hard disks you find)

That will list the partition table of a block device and tell you what the partition types are marked as.

Generally you're going to want to mount /dev/sdaN where N is a number (or /dev/hdaN or hdbN, etc.), because /dev/sda is the block device for the entire disk (including the MBR), while /dev/sda1 would be the first partition.
bitvector
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:39 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:16 pm

As root, execute the command: /sbin/fdisk -l
(that's a lowercase 'L', not a number '1')

That should list the partitions on any disk devices visible to the system.

As enigma59 noted, the disk(s) may be /dev/sd<something> instead of /dev/hd<something>, depending on whether the disks are PATA or SATA and on how recent a Linux kernel you're running.
Last edited by just brew it! on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37516
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:16 pm

If it is a SATA drive it will appear as /dev/sda and not /dev/hda. You then need to mount the appropriate partition, so probably need to do something like
Code: Select all
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest