Linux on IBM 380ED

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:47 pm

Well I have and old IBM 380ED latop sitting here with me. I got it for free, Its really old with a pentium MMX 166 MHz CPU.
I think it has a 3 or 5 gb hard drive. I want some help as to which linux distro would best go with this old brick.
AMD 4200X2|2GB G-Skill DDR2800|EVGA GeForce7900 GS KO|Acer Mobo|Seagate 7200.9 250GB|2 Lite-On DVD-RW|Silverstone 5 00w PSU|Acer 19" x191W|
chumblaka
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:07 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:41 pm

You might be able to try puppy Linux or DSL(D*** Small Linux). I'm not exactly sure what specs either needs. I know I ran one of them (I believe it was puppy but it was along time ago) on the original Pentium.
ghstbstr65
Gerbil
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Wed Jul 02, 2008 1:40 pm

Hmm, alright, well I think DSL would work better.
Puppy Linux says it requires at least 64mb of ram, this thing only has 16mb..
AMD 4200X2|2GB G-Skill DDR2800|EVGA GeForce7900 GS KO|Acer Mobo|Seagate 7200.9 250GB|2 Lite-On DVD-RW|Silverstone 5 00w PSU|Acer 19" x191W|
chumblaka
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:07 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:01 pm

Well, i burned DSL on a disc, but this thing doesnt seem to want to boot from CD...
any way to make the CD boot through floppy?
AMD 4200X2|2GB G-Skill DDR2800|EVGA GeForce7900 GS KO|Acer Mobo|Seagate 7200.9 250GB|2 Lite-On DVD-RW|Silverstone 5 00w PSU|Acer 19" x191W|
chumblaka
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:07 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:06 pm

FroBozz_Inc
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7301
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:35 am
Location: Hockeytown, MI

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:47 pm

FroBozz_Inc wrote:This might be helpful:

http://home.comcast.net/~fbui/Linux-on-TP380ED.html


Thanks, I'll look into this if DSL doesnt work.
I just updated the BIOS on this things, and i got it booting CD's!
=]
Trying DSL now, if not, ill try slackware.
AMD 4200X2|2GB G-Skill DDR2800|EVGA GeForce7900 GS KO|Acer Mobo|Seagate 7200.9 250GB|2 Lite-On DVD-RW|Silverstone 5 00w PSU|Acer 19" x191W|
chumblaka
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:07 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:00 pm

You might want to look into SliTaz. I just heard about it a few days ago and have been really impressed with it so far. Its half the size of DSL and actually looks more modern! Its 25MB bootable cd, floppy or flash and unpacks to be a whopping 80MB!

Check it out.

SliTaz

I think the RAM should be fine with a bit of swap.
Desktop
Windows 7
AMD X2 4200
Biostar K8M800 MOBO
2.0 GB DDR2
GeForce 7600GS AGP
120 GB HD - Windows XP
300 GB SATA - Linux Mint 9
pikaia
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Cincinnati

Re: Linux on IBM 380ED

Postposted on Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:53 pm

pikaia wrote:You might want to look into SliTaz. I just heard about it a few days ago and have been really impressed with it so far. Its half the size of DSL and actually looks more modern! Its 25MB bootable cd, floppy or flash and unpacks to be a whopping 80MB!

Check it out.

SliTaz

I think the RAM should be fine with a bit of swap.



Thanks alot i'll give this a try
AMD 4200X2|2GB G-Skill DDR2800|EVGA GeForce7900 GS KO|Acer Mobo|Seagate 7200.9 250GB|2 Lite-On DVD-RW|Silverstone 5 00w PSU|Acer 19" x191W|
chumblaka
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:07 pm
Location: Texas


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests