Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, notfred

rapaz
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author

What do you recommend?

Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:46 pm

Hi everyone...
Can anyone recommend what exactly the best option is for my situation below:
I have a spare PC (called 'storage PC' from now on) that I want to hook up to my router and leave on 24/7. I want to use it as a media server (so I can watch movies etc on PS3 without needing to turn my main PC on) and also as a kinda backup for music/vids/ photos etc that I have on my main PC and laptop. More detail below:

I would like to give Linux a try. I have a feeling that I can't really go wrong with Ubuntu (large user base, well supported etc). My questions are:
1) Should I download Ubuntu server version or the desktop version (yes I'm completely new to all this kinda thing)
2) Will I need a special program to run the backing up of the PC and laptop e.g. FreeNas (any suggestions?)? I assume I would have to set the PC and laptop (both XP) up so that they initate the backup to the 'storage PC', is that right? (The PC and laptop will be turned off daily). My aim is simply to have the PC and laptop backed-up daily to the 'storage PC'. The 'storage PC' should also theoretically have the sum of the info from my laptop and PC. I would want to be able to access this info on the 'storage PC' from either the PC or laptop so that effectively everything has access to everything.
3) I want to be able to use it to act as a mediaserver to serve movies/music to my PS3 Are there any Linux progs that would do an equal job as Twonkeymedia does?
Thanks for any help!
:)

titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah

Re: What do you recommend?

Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:26 pm

It looks like you can use any distribution as your media server for the PS3 as long as you install Fuppes. (I'm a fan of Gentoo myself, and you can build a really lean machine using Gentoo over Ubuntu.)