Hard code internal IP

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:37 pm

Should I / how do I hard code an internal IP? I have a Ubuntu box that runs headless, is used for backups, and folding. During October, there was a power outage after which I could not sign in to x.x.0.194. I connected a keyboard and monitor and got folding for Frankie running. Today, by accident, I ran ifconfig and see x.x.0.193. Making that edit in my putty profile lets me sign in again.

Appreciate your help.
PhilipMcc
Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:53 pm

The easiest is to config a static dhcp lease for your machine's mac address.
GodsMadClown
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:02 am

Re: Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:01 pm

Yeah, much easier to do from the router side.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19747
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:14 am

Got it - thanks!
PhilipMcc
Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:44 am

For completeness, I've included a link to an article detailing how to switch Ubuntu to a static IP from a DHCP address.

Howto: Ubuntu Linux convert DHCP network configuration to static IP configuration
http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/howto-ubu ... ation.html
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: Hard code internal IP

Postposted on Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:24 am

Flatland_Spider wrote:For completeness, I've included a link to an article detailing how to switch Ubuntu to a static IP from a DHCP address.

Howto: Ubuntu Linux convert DHCP network configuration to static IP configuration
http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/howto-ubu ... ation.html

If this was originally a desktop installation you will also want to remove the network-manager service; if you don't it will do stuff behind your back like overwriting your manually created resolv.conf. Network-manager is great for laptops where the system is frequently moved around to different networks. On a server (or arguably, even a desktop) it is generally more trouble than it is worth.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36895
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests