The WU that got away.

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

The WU that got away.

Postposted on Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 am

Right...
Im on a modem so have to connect to the internet once the WU is done most of the time (unless I can be around to connect before it finishes). I did this today but I dont think it was uploaded (It didn't add 1 to my finished WUs). How do I do this? I think my CPUs hard work is being wasted most of the time! Thanks.
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:35 am

If using the console version:
Open a command prompt and change to the directory the client is in. Run FAH2Console -send all and it should send any finished work units. The client may have to be shut down to do this, I'm not sure. And I haven't tried the graphical client yet so someone else will have to help you if you're using that one.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Apr 17, 2002 3:54 pm

Yey, thanks. I ran the graphical version with the same command and it sent it all.
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Apr 17, 2002 8:35 pm

Help! After running 8 hours some work should have been done. It finished 1/50 in about 5 minutes. Popped up the window and it came.... up..... real.....slow..... could'nt seem to even draw itself. Had to kill the process. Work units lost I guess because I downloaded the console version and asked it to send the work...

Loaded queue successfully.
Attempting to return result(s) to server...
- Failed to send all units to server
***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2) from OS

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

Sigh, try try again.
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Postposted on Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:23 pm

I think the F@H servers are having a bit of a hiccup, I know a few people that are having troubles sending their WU's in.
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!

Postposted on Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:07 pm

Have you tried running the graphical command with that command?

'winFAH.exe -send all'
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:24 pm

err..... whats a WU? :wink:
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Thu Apr 18, 2002 2:54 pm

Work
Unit
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Thu Apr 18, 2002 4:31 pm

Thanks. I might join the folding team soon too.
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Fri Apr 19, 2002 12:00 am

Well, today I finished a WU that took about 30 hours to complete - ("ProteinA") - and it was sitting around waiting for me to get on the net when I arrived ("attempting to send results" or some such). So I tried that, and after a few failed attempts got on. It kept attempting, and then seemed to have succeeded. It got a new WU, but didn't increment my completed WU count, and as far as I can tell whatever I sent, if anything, disappeared into the ether.

It would be good if they'd publish the source code for this thing so we could get a look at it and, perhaps, improve it.
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5355
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Fri Apr 19, 2002 1:13 am

My first work unit went into that great bit bucket in the sky. I see y'all have no spaces in your folding@home user names. I've relabeled to Mr_Bill maybe that will work. Does anyone else notice that the graphical version constantly hangs and eventually forces a reboot? I had to switch to the command line version. SETI is better behaved. I'm still splitting my workload. Maybe the aliens will help us with... Err, what was that word? That memory disease?
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE | MSI 790FX-GD70 | 4x2GB DDR3 | 3 x Intel X25-M G2 | Samsung Series 830 | XFX Radeon HD 7870 | BenQ FP241VW 24" | Grado SR80 | Logitech G710+ | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | WinXP64 | Back-UPS NS 1250
Mr Bill
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope

Postposted on Sat Apr 20, 2002 4:41 am

It would be good if they'd publish the source code for this thing so we could get a look at it and, perhaps, improve it.l


One of the main problems with publishing the source code is keeping data integrity of the project. There are some very very competitive people out there who may modify the program to produce the WU's faster, but perhaps destorying data integrity while doing so.
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!


Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests