Frankenbot rebirth. The cass farm of DOOM.

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

Postposted on Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:43 pm

hmmm I don't know.... that would be sweet long as all nodes are WOL capable. and don't just blast off into pxe boot and time out. I will have to research WOL some more.

If the nodes would just time out and reboot till they got a dhcp packet it would be nice.

configuring server... might get a diskless node running off it tonight.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Sat Oct 23, 2004 8:03 pm

Hmm... after they time out they just give up? IIRC at least some of the micro-ATX boards I'm using for my diskless nodes automatically retry after a while, if the PXE boot fails the first time around.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37842
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:41 am

Cass, on the way to you for the nodes are:

5 Motherboards:

Gigabyte GA-7DXR + Rev 1.0
Asus A7V133-C
Asus A7V133 Rev 1.05
Biostar M7MIA Rev 2.0
ABIT KG7

7 Sticks of SDRAM

2 pc100 64MB
1 pc133 64mb
1 pc100 128mb
1 pc133 128mb
1 pc100 32mb
1 pc ? 128mb

Enjoy. ;)
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo

Postposted on Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:16 am

Great! That will give us 9 total nodes. Maybe 10 if we can figure out what type mb for the celeron. We need processors now. I will probably throw in another board or two over the nest month or so.. I will probably swap some of mine out for sempron 3100's.

JBI, yes some of mine just quit trying if they don't get a packet the first trip.... I think that is in setup of the NIC cards. I am more worried about what happens if they get to boot and there is no signal and you get the "no system disk hit enter to continue" message. I might be jumping the gun and everthing will be fine. (with enough ctrl-alt-b card setup and bios options)

I did not get a diskless node running last night because after siiting up till 5:30 am yesterday, I hit a wall and wasn't able to work through some small problems I had with sitting up the se

I am using the server right now to type this. I finally got Usermin, X, Firefox, and gnome to working. I have a kernel with sse enabled. I have more than half of the server stuff set up, but I have to pull another circuit for power and that will kill a couple hours. I have to get another Nic card in the server, and get firewall, and packet filtering configured... I have never done that ever close to properly. On my server I just left the firewall open and used it for NAT and turned off all remote services.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Sun Oct 24, 2004 9:00 pm

OK, got another circuit pulled, got 3 Fbot boards mounted on a temporary home, got the 650 duron board from emkubed cleaned up lapped in and running. However, I cannot get the server and the diskless machine to communicate.

I will have to revisit the setup and try some trouble shooting. Mean time I do have the server folding away. I do have the necessary stuff running on the server, but cannot seem to get anything dhcp to recognize the diskless unit. I will start with using a xover cable to go direct. I have some questions about the setup article I referenced, because they just ignored subnetting entirely.

As soon as I get the first node up though it will be only a matter of moments to add many more.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Wed Oct 27, 2004 1:03 am

Just a note to any other fool that might try to do diskless..... IF you boot from a root filesystem that is on a different drive than the one you copy your boot loaders from, you will have to specifically point the boot loader to that drive with directive:

Code: Select all
rootdev="mydrive"
root_disk_unit="0"


these lines get added to loader.conf

Of course you will have to replace the mydrive with the unix bios drive address.. in my case ad2s1d

drive 2, slice 1, partition d I think that translates to.

I have struggled since sunday with this one.. pxeboot would load and then it would stall just after the loader took over from pxeboot.

I will probably be excited after some sleep...[/quote]
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Thu Oct 28, 2004 12:03 am

Finally got diskless client to boot all the way into a csh.

Only to find there are no linux compat libs available.

That will be a small thing to fix.

(I Hope)
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Thu Oct 28, 2004 12:06 am

cass wrote:Finally got diskless client to boot all the way into a csh.

Only to find there are no linux compat libs available.

That will be a small thing to fix.

(I Hope)

Egads... just use LTSP already. :lol:
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37842
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Thu Oct 28, 2004 7:55 am

just brew it! wrote:
cass wrote:Finally got diskless client to boot all the way into a csh.

Only to find there are no linux compat libs available.

That will be a small thing to fix.

(I Hope)


Egads... just use LTSP already. :lol:


I probably would have had I not been disillusioned by
server and client setup artiles I stumbled upon. Then I decided I would set up a seperate drive for the diskless units not realizing I would have to change the boot conf to find the new drive even though it was mounted. When I found the drive, It had errors that were uncorrectable. (I probably should have been on to this quick being as I fished the drive out of my junk pile and was getting DMA read errors).

Now once I have a new drive up, I discover there are a few "minor" details the setup article either whiffed or ignored. Then there is the fact that freeBSD4.8 and freeBSD 5.3 are far enough apart that a smattering of file locations and functions have changed. The most important change to me is that "clone root" is gone. Clone root was a cool little function that would build a working root anywhere with one line.

I have been wanting to do a diskless setup with the ability to load an individual kernel for each diskless station (recompile pxeboot) and get rid of some errors that the old setup has, and now I am close. I still have to get remote monitoring/setup and auto run stuff going.

I guess if there is an up side it is that freeBSD 5.3 is a right smart faster than 4.8 with folding. Of course I don't know how it would compare with LTSP.

And yes, JBI about my 400th kernel compile and 10,000th kernel boot attempt when I was still getting error messges like "no dump file" and "can't update mounttab" and "/usr not found" I was indeed thinking to myself that LTSP would have been easier to get running. I was also thinking that Windows is not in any danger from BSD in the desktop market. Although I will say that setting up a network in BSD is 100 times easier than setting one up in windows.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:02 pm

OK, totally trashed the first setup altogether except for the server. setup a new hard drive with a seperate independent root, got diskless unit to boot into shell, got FAH to find its linux libs, and then... The F_ing thing runs infinite loops on FAH setup .... just goes through username, team# over and over....

at least in the meantime I did get ipnat and ipf running on the server... hell that took all day and 4 more kernel compiles.

So close but impossibly far.

about all I have discovered so far is that there are no articles anywhere that describe how to setup diskless operation successfully for freeBSD 5.3
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Tue Nov 02, 2004 6:29 pm

emkubed wrote:Cass, on the way to you for the nodes are:

5 Motherboards:

Gigabyte GA-7DXR + Rev 1.0
Asus A7V133-C
Asus A7V133 Rev 1.05
Biostar M7MIA Rev 2.0
ABIT KG7

7 Sticks of SDRAM

2 pc100 64MB
1 pc133 64mb
1 pc100 128mb
1 pc133 128mb
1 pc100 32mb
1 pc ? 128mb

Enjoy.:wink:


This stuff got here about two hours ago, in good shape and as described. I have two procs and two MB's coming from Hance to go in.

I currently have an xp2400 folding for FBot and the diskless 1600 running. I have not got the 650 duron running diskless yet. I will not let the stuff pile up and not run, I will put it in my diskless system set the username to TRFankenbot and let it run till I get the diskless fbot straightened out.

I will post the problem I am having here and in the linux forum so if anybody has any ideas, chime right in. don't worry I will happily try any suggestions.

system OS: FreeBSD 5.3 Stable.

Wan IP is 192.168.1.7
this goes through my other diskless folding server which serves as a firewall, sending the net requests on to 192.168.0.x which is a hardware router and then to a cable modem on out.

Diskless system (LAN) IP 192.168.7.2
this connects to the cool IBM switch from emkubed that the diskless nodes will plug to.

Diskless Node IP 192.168.7.101
node ip assigned by dhcp via MAC.

192.168.1.7 has ipf enabled currently, but rules are accept all and pass all.
ipnat is running, but just bridges 192.168.1.7 and 192.168.7.2 because I have not cut out anything.

Diskless root system is on a seperate hdd from the server root. the diskless root is mounted as /diskless_ro on the server. it is then exported to the diskless system via /diskless_ro -alldirs,maproot=root 192.168.7.101

/etc /var and /folding are in a seperate partition on the same drive with /diskless_ro. They are called

/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/etc
/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/var
/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/folding

these are mounted on the server with /diskless_rw and exported by

/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/etc /diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/var /diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/folding maproot=root 192.168.7.101

My diskless root system was created by chrooting to /diskless_ro/root and using /stand/sysinstall to install base system. cvsup was used to download new src and build world was run. kernel config file was copied in and build kernel was run then install world and install kernel and mergemaster.

I have linux enabled for linux compat, and nfs client and gateway on.

The diskless unit boots into its home just fine with no errors.

I can change into /folding and start FAH with "./FAH502.exe -configonly" and enter the data... when it tries to write the files, it writes FAHlog.txt, MyFolding.html and creates clientconfig with a zero size and restarts over asking questions name etc. Here are a couple links to the same problem with 2 diff OS.

http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=9884
http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=9498&start=0

I have copied all my .pwd, spwd, login.access etc files from the server over to the diskless root. I Have ran "chown root:wheel" on the /folding dir and FAH502.exe file. I have ran chmod 777 on the folder and file. I have copied the file over from the server using tftp and just copying it over in the server filesystem.

I can touch files, mkdir, edit files, delete files in /folding and / and /usr etc with no trouble. I have tried mounting the file systems with nfs2 and nfs3 and have tried -r32768 and -w 32768. The server is using UFS2.

The linux compat is working properly because without it I get ELF type errors.

I am still sort of convinced that there is some ownership confusion and even though the thing says root is the owner it somehow knows it ain't the same root. There is really no other option than NFS mounting for the filesystem.

I can chroot over to the /diskless_ro/root and cd to /folding and the run ./FAH502.exe -configonly from the server just fine, but then the drive is ad2s1d (/diskless_ro) and ad2s1e (/diskless_rw) to the server. The servers root is on ad0s1_

I am at a loss, any suggestions appreciated.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:45 pm

IT Works! IT works!

My god I am sooooo happy I could cry....

The problem was that fcntl(2) locks were being forwarded over the wire.... uh yeah whatever the heck that means.

anyhow instead of using:

mount 192.168.7.2:/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/folding

the correct version is:

mount_nfs -L 192.168.7.2:/diskless_rw/192.168.7.101/folding

This little tidbit is buried in the handbook.

without the mount_nfs -L option it is necessary to run rpcbind, rpc.statd, and rpc.lockd on the client.

/me jumping up and down and grinning ear to ear/

TRFrankenbot grows in strenth....
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:48 pm

Hurrah! Now lets fill it to the brim with nodes and make a Folding Cube of DOOM!
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:00 am

Gladly Captain.

I would add another axp1800 tonight, but I have some clean up to do where I have been kludging the client setup. Tomorrow I will cleanup and add the 1800 I already have the board mounted with PSU hooked up. all I have to do is mount cpu, cooler, ram and make cable.

Them boards you sent look new...
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:06 am

diskless-101 Frankenbot 1st diskless node Duron 650.

Code: Select all
# Linux Console Edition #######################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /folding
Executable: ./FAH502.exe
Arguments: -freeBSD -configonly -advmethods

[00:03:34] - Ask before connecting: No
[00:03:34] - User name: TRFrankenbot (Team 2630)
[00:03:34] - User ID: 1F77A53F06732396
[00:03:34] - Machine ID: 1
[00:03:34]
[00:03:34] Configuring Folding@Home...



--- Opening Log file [November 3 00:03:40]


# Linux Console Edition #######################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /folding
Executable: ./FAH502.exe
Arguments: -freeBSD -forceasm -advmethods

Warning:
 By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
 safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
 do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
 If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
 if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
 use of the flag.

[00:03:40] - Ask before connecting: No
[00:03:40] - User name: TRFrankenbot (Team 2630)
[00:03:40] - User ID: 1F77A53F06732396
[00:03:40] - Machine ID: 1
[00:03:40]
[00:03:40] Loaded queue successfully.
[00:03:40] + Benchmarking ...
[00:03:48] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[00:03:48] + Attempting to get work packet
[00:03:48] - Connecting to assignment server
[00:03:48] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.143).
[00:03:48] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[00:03:48] Loaded queue successfully.
[00:03:49] + Closed connections
[00:03:49]
[00:03:49] + Processing work unit
[00:03:49] Core required: FahCore_65.exe
[00:03:49] Core not found.
[00:03:49] - Core is not present or corrupted.
[00:03:49] - Attempting to download new core...
[00:03:49] + Downloading new core: FahCore_65.exe
[00:03:50] + 10240 bytes downloaded
[00:03:50] + 20480 bytes downloaded
[00:03:50] + 30720 bytes downloaded
[00:03:50] + 40960 bytes downloaded
.
.
.
.
[00:03:52] + 860160 bytes downloaded
[00:03:52] + 861831 bytes downloaded
[00:03:52] Verifying core Core_65.fah...
[00:03:53] Signature is VALID
[00:03:53]
[00:03:53] Trying to unzip core FahCore_65.exe
[00:03:54] Decompressed FahCore_65.exe (2264152 bytes) successfully
[00:03:55] + Core successfully engaged
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] + Processing work unit
[00:04:01] Core required: FahCore_65.exe
[00:04:01] Core found.
[00:04:01] Working on Unit 01 [November 3 00:04:01]
[00:04:01] + Working ...
[00:04:01] Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.53 (June 29, 2004)
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] Proj: work/wudata_01
[00:04:01] Done: 22960 -> 142975 (decompressed 622.7 percent)
[00:04:01] nsteps: 5000000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 250.000000 temperature: 355.000
000
[00:04:01] xyzfile:
[00:04:01] "   393  p1133_L939_K12M_355K
[00:04:01]      1  N    -36.504819   61.187236   26.627528    ..."
[00:04:01] keyfile:
[00:04:01] "parameters  ./proj1133.prm
[00:04:01] NOVERSION
[00:04:01] ARCHIVE
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] cutoff        16.0
[00:04:01] taper         12..."
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] - Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_01.dyn
[00:04:01] Starting from initial work packet
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] Protein: p1133_L939_K12M_355K
[00:04:01] - Run: 147 (Clone 25, Gen 0)
[00:04:01] - Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 400
[00:04:01] - Dynamic steps required: 5000000
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] Writing local files:
[00:04:01]
[00:04:01] parameters          work/wudata_01.prm
[00:04:01] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (overwrite) successful.
[00:04:01] - Writing "work/wudata_01.xyz": (overwrite) successful.
[00:04:02] - Writing "work/wudata_01.prm": (overwrite) successful.
[00:04:06] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (append) successful.
[00:04:06]
[00:04:06] PROJECT="work/wudata_01", NSTEPS=5000000, DT=2.0000, DTDUMP=25.000000
, TEMP=355.00
[00:04:07] TINKER: Software Tools for Molecular Design
[00:04:07] Version 3.8  October 2000
[00:04:07] Copyright (c)  Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
[00:04:07] portions Copyright (c)  Michael Shirts 2001
[00:04:07] portions Copyright (c)  Vijay S Pande 2001
[00:22:22] Finished a frame (1)
[00:40:31] Finished a frame (2)
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 2:17 am

that is really impressive
congratulations
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21313
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:12 am

TRFrankenbot diskless#2 now under power.

axp1800
nf2 MB
256MB pc2100

Code: Select all
--- Opening Log file [November 3 08:26:32]


# Linux Console Edition #######################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /folding102
Executable: ./FAH502.exe
Arguments: -configonly

[08:26:32] Configuring Folding@Home...


[08:26:46] - Ask before connecting: No
[08:26:46] - User name: TRFrankenbot (Team 2630)
[08:26:46] - User ID not found locally
[08:26:46] + Requesting User ID from server
[08:26:47] - Machine ID: 1
[08:26:47]
[08:26:47] -configonly flag given, so exiting.


--- Opening Log file [November 3 08:27:04]


# Linux Console Edition #######################################################
###############################################################################

                       Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /folding102
Executable: ./FAH502.exe
Arguments: -forceasm -freeBSD -advmethods

Warning:
 By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
 safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
 do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
 If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
 if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
 use of the flag.

[08:27:04] - Ask before connecting: No
[08:27:04] - User name: TRFrankenbot (Team 2630)
[08:27:04] - User ID: 2AD7FF307D49DEF3
[08:27:04] - Machine ID: 1
[08:27:04]
[08:27:04] Work directory not found. Creating...
[08:27:04] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[08:27:04] + Benchmarking ...
[08:27:11] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[08:27:11] + Attempting to get work packet
[08:27:11] - Connecting to assignment server
[08:27:11] - Successful: assigned to (171.67.89.152).
[08:27:11] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[08:27:12] Loaded queue successfully.
[08:27:24] + Closed connections
[08:27:24]
[08:27:24] + Processing work unit
[08:27:24] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[08:27:24] Core not found.
[08:27:24] - Core is not present or corrupted.
[08:27:24] - Attempting to download new core...
[08:27:24] + Downloading new core: FahCore_78.exe
[08:27:24] + 10240 bytes downloaded
[08:27:24] + 20480 bytes downloaded
.
.
.
[08:27:27] + 1054720 bytes downloaded
[08:27:27] + 1064173 bytes downloaded
[08:27:27] Verifying core Core_78.fah...
[08:27:27] Signature is VALID
[08:27:27]
[08:27:27] Trying to unzip core FahCore_78.exe
[08:27:29] Decompressed FahCore_78.exe (3154316 bytes) successfully
[08:27:30] + Core successfully engaged
[08:27:36]
[08:27:36] + Processing work unit
[08:27:36] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[08:27:36] Core found.
[08:27:36] Working on Unit 01 [November 3 08:27:36]
[08:27:36] + Working ...
[08:27:36]
[08:27:36] *------------------------------*
[08:27:36] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
[08:27:36] Version 1.68 (August 18, 2004)
[08:27:36]
[08:27:36] Preparing to commence simulation
[08:27:36] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
[08:27:36] - Not checking prior termination.
[08:27:39] - Expanded 1289463 -> 6672285 (decompressed 517.4 percent)
[08:27:39] - Starting from initial work packet
[08:27:39]
[08:27:40] Project: 724 (Run 52, Clone 58, Gen 30)
[08:27:40]
[08:27:40] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[08:27:40] Entering M.D.
[08:27:48] Protein: p724_Abeta21-43-amberGS
[08:27:48]
[08:27:48] Writing local files
[08:27:49] Extra SSE boost OK.
[08:27:50] Writing local files
[08:27:50] Completed 0 out of 125000 steps  (0%)
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:34 am

I haven't even had anything to do with this project really and I'm ready to burst with pride! :wink:

edit: fixed spelling - damn laptop isn't cooperating this morning.
Last edited by idchafee on Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
YOU CAN RUPTURE SOMEONE'S SPLEEN WITH A WATER BALLOON!!!!
idchafee
His Holy Gerbilness
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 13880
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:56 am

congrats cass! sounds like an amazing setup. the way emkubed described the physical setup of all those mobos on/in the crate/box sounded like a great idea! no need for a heater in the winter either! just hold your hands over the diskless beast! you could maybe even cook some marshmellows over that heat and make smores!
njenabnit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:33 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:07 am

N_4_7_3 wrote:congrats cass! sounds like an amazing setup. the way emkubed described the physical setup of all those mobos on/in the crate/box sounded like a great idea! no need for a heater in the winter either! just hold your hands over the diskless beast! you could maybe even cook some marshmellows over that heat and make smores!

you mean like this 8)
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21313
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:19 pm

A hardy atta-boy on a most impressive thrash. I did my best to follow along and learn some stuff. I plan to try linux or bsd as soon as my obsession to squeeze every last point out my three turkeys lets up a little.
Image Image
.* * M-51 * *. .The Whirlpool Galaxy.
farmpuma
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Soybean field, IN, USA, Earth .. just a bit south of John .. err .... Fart Wayne, Indiana

Postposted on Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:37 pm

Thanks, Whichever way you go, there will be help getting going here in the forums. I am sitting here now tweaking and trying to get the script right to autostart the nodes.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 9:11 am

Usacomp2k3 wrote:
N_4_7_3 wrote:congrats cass! sounds like an amazing setup. the way emkubed described the physical setup of all those mobos on/in the crate/box sounded like a great idea! no need for a heater in the winter either! just hold your hands over the diskless beast! you could maybe even cook some marshmellows over that heat and make smores!

you mean like this 8)


Didn't know you got brown sauce in the states, French people stare blankly when you ask for it.

Long live brown sauce!!! Maybe the US is worth a visit after all. :wink:

PS nice try Frankenbot, but I don't think you managed to get past me even for one update :lol:
Fernando!
Your mother ate my dog!
cheesyking
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2276
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:52 am
Location: That London (or so I'm told)

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 9:49 am

That will soon change, King of Cheese.

Nothing can stop the Grimace.
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:33 pm

Hance's load came in... 1000 athlon, 1200 athlon, 2MBs and coolers. Time to go make some cheezwhiz.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:20 pm

I took the new stuff home, stopped by lowes and fetched a little lumber for the box. and some power strips.

I got home, and figured since I don't have any more vid cards to get the two new setups going, I would move my 3100 sempron over to FBot for some time/stabilitly testing.... It didn't take long to copy dirs. and get everthing ready, then I switch the lan cable and rebooted. 20 seconds later, it has booted, and FAH aoto started lovely and then ... nothing.. it jsut sat there. I looked at the control panel on the badass emkubed switch to see no activity... squat...

I guess that means another night or two of googling and building kernels with 12 or 13 undocumented options tiill I find the right combo. I also means I have to recompile pxe boot with the ability to load multiple kernels.

I really don't understand why it runs fine under 4.8 and won't under 5.3...... 4.8 even recognizes it as Hammer achitecture.

I am ordering 10 case fans for cooling FBot.. also odering 10 cpu fans so as to have a few around. probably order a case of PSU's sometime soon.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:24 pm

<whisper>Linux... LTSP...</whisper>

:lol:
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37842
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Thu Nov 04, 2004 11:09 pm

you tried LTSP with a 3100 sempron yet? Or amd64.

LOL I hear you...
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:46 pm

What do Yall think about running headless?

I have to use a vid card to get em setup, but once they are running, I can just enable one serial port and take the video card out and chuck it.

I currently have the little duron 650 (now 748) running that way. I am doing this to free up a video card to get another couple nodes cranking.

I still haven't got my 3100 sempron to run diskless in the Fbot system. currently playing with compiler optimizations, and tweaking kernels. Geting ready to fire up the 1000 and 1200 athlons.
cass
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:12 am

Postposted on Sat Nov 06, 2004 8:04 pm

this whole beast is going to be our massive frankenbot?

I still have a 1.4 tbird sitting here and will likely get another one soon if it will help.

i also may have a vid card or 2 if you need it.

booyakasha! cass kickin ass!
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

PreviousNext

Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests