Post your Farm

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:34 pm

I figure some unification on showing what your folding with would be cool. Though we're all in competition on some level ;) we're also working as one team [and trying to keep those OSXers below us for as long as possible]

Also my apologies for not lurking past page 2 if this has been done before

I'm folding with an Athlon 64 X2 3800+ [no overclock atm] which gets around 600 PPD, is always on but is also my desktop so gets some slowdown due to my gaming and such, an Intel Pentium D 2.8 GHZ which is more or less a dedicated folder, pulling 800 PPD, my pentium m single core laptop [1.8 ghz] doesn't see much use except folding these days, but onyl really gets 100 ppd, and I just added a PS3 to my stable that folds at night and whenever I'm not gaming.
Main Rig: FX-6100@4.2ghz / Radeon 6950 / Velociraptor HD / 8GB Ram / Win 7 x64
Backup/FIleserver: Sempron 2650 / 6 TB storage / FreeBSD 10 / hilariously inside a Cooler Master Cosmos case
pikaporeon
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada.

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:11 am

my farm consists of a PC and a laptop

the PC

C2D E4400 OC @ 3.2GHz
running only console client

the laptop

Core Duo T2500 @ 2.0GHz
Radeon Mobility X1600
running GPU client

yep that's my farm :D
Intel C2Q Q8300 2.5GHz | Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R | 8GB DDR2 800 | MSI ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB | AOpen G325 Aeolus

PSN ID: MentalReaper
Steam ID: dstrb3d
ReAp3r-G
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: University at Buffalo, Buffalo NY

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:17 am

I've rearranged my farm a bit over the past few days... switched a couple of Windows clients to Linux-on-VMware-on-Windows, added a machine at work which hadn't been folding for a while back into the mix, tweaked options on a few clients to get a better WU mix, and overhauled my "live status" scripts. My live status now incorporates info on clients which aren't running here at home, by having the remote clients periodically push their status info out to my web server.

So rather than list everything in this post, I'll just link to the live status page (updated every 5 minutes), which shows all of the systems folding for me, the WUs they're currently crunching on, and estimated PPD for each: http://justbrewit.net/folding/nodestat.txt

:D
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38088
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:35 am

i'm hoping to add a PS3 to my folding arsenal...

pray for its availability!!! :D
Intel C2Q Q8300 2.5GHz | Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R | 8GB DDR2 800 | MSI ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB | AOpen G325 Aeolus

PSN ID: MentalReaper
Steam ID: dstrb3d
ReAp3r-G
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: University at Buffalo, Buffalo NY

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:39 am

Image
"Give me a scotch. I'm starving" ~ Tony Stark
PRIME1
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7561
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 5:07 pm
Location: , location

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:49 am

PRIME1 wrote:Sigh, how times have changed.
http://www.techreport.com/forums/viewto ... f=9&t=1328

So...? What are you waiting for? No time like the present to start folding again... :D
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38088
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:20 am

just brew it! wrote:
PRIME1 wrote:Sigh, how times have changed.
http://www.techreport.com/forums/viewto ... f=9&t=1328

So...? What are you waiting for? No time like the present to start folding again... :D

Who ever said I stopped? :wink:

http://projects.digitalwreckage.com/fah/fah.html
Image
"Give me a scotch. I'm starving" ~ Tony Stark
PRIME1
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7561
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 5:07 pm
Location: , location

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 am

Ahh, OK... I'd forgotten you'd started your own team!
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38088
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:22 am

I have:

Q6600 - Vista X64 running the SMP client - home office/gaming PC

Q6600 - XP Home Edition running the SMP and GPU client - dedicated folder

Q6600 - Ubuntu X64 running two SMP clients - dedicated folder

I get a total of about 7000 ppd max out of my farm when the stars are properly aligned. With hung and lost work units and pwer bumps I figure I am contributing about 6000 ppd to the mighty UGN! :D

I ordered a power supply so I can run the GPU client on my X1950pro separately on on older Athlon X64 system that is collecting dust right now.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:51 pm

At the office I've got-

A T7600 (2.33) running SMP.
A P4D 3.2 running SMP. This machine has a Radeon HD 3870 in it, so when the new GPU client comes out, it may get some love.
A P4 3.2 single core
A Q6600 (2.4) running 4 instances.
A T2300 (1.66) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 4200+ (2.2) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 5200+ (2.6) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 3700+ (2.2)
A Phenom 9500 (2.2) running 4 instances.
And an old Thinkpad 600x 500MHz. P3 that returns a WU once every other blue moon, but keeps on chugging along.

I wish they could all run 24/7, but I get as much out of them as I can.

At home where I do fold 24/7 where I've got-

3 Duron 1.8's - The silly things just won't die...
An Athlon XP 2400+ (2Ghz.)
An Athlon XP 3000 with a Radeon X1950 Pro running on the GPU.
A P4 3.0 with a Radeon X1650 running 1 CPU instance, and 1 GPU instance (just to say I can)

And the ol' PS3 that's just idling while Stanford and Sony work on the client issue.
Haggis!
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 11:12 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:07 pm

Haggis! wrote:At the office I've got-

A T7600 (2.33) running SMP.
A P4D 3.2 running SMP. This machine has a Radeon HD 3870 in it, so when the new GPU client comes out, it may get some love.
A P4 3.2 single core
A Q6600 (2.4) running 4 instances.
A T2300 (1.66) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 4200+ (2.2) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 5200+ (2.6) running 2 instances.
An Athlon 3700+ (2.2)
A Phenom 9500 (2.2) running 4 instances.
And an old Thinkpad 600x 500MHz. P3 that returns a WU once every other blue moon, but keeps on chugging along.

I wish they could all run 24/7, but I get as much out of them as I can.

At home where I do fold 24/7 where I've got-

3 Duron 1.8's - The silly things just won't die...
An Athlon XP 2400+ (2Ghz.)
An Athlon XP 3000 with a Radeon X1950 Pro running on the GPU.
A P4 3.0 with a Radeon X1650 running 1 CPU instance, and 1 GPU instance (just to say I can)

And the ol' PS3 that's just idling while Stanford and Sony work on the client issue.


Wowzer!! :o
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:26 pm

1. AMD X2 4200, Widows XP, SMP Client, Office
2. AMD X2 4200, Ubuntu 7.10, SMP Client, Garage
3. AMD X2 4800, Windows XP, SMP Client, Bedoom A
4. Intel Core 2 E4300, Windows XP, SMP Client, Garage
5. Intel Pentium D 925, Windows XP, Graphical Client, Fresno State
6. AMD 64 3500+, Windows XP, Graphical Client, Unversity of California, Santa Barbara
7. AMD 64 3200+, Windows XP, Graphical Client, Bedroom B
8. AMD 64 3200+, Windows XP, Graphical Client,Office
9. AMD 64 3000+, Windows XP, Graphical Client, Bedroom C


3160 Average PPD

Stoneman828
_________________
<img src="http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=stoneman828&teamid=2630&label=150,200,200&header=100,255,200&stats=150,200,200&trans=yes&template=techreport&cpu=7" alt="www.Statgfx.com" border=3/>
stoneman828
Gerbil
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 4:25 pm
Location: California

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:40 pm

2x Q6600 Quad 2.66
1x Xeon Quad 2.33
2x Xeon Quad 2.66

All running 2x Ubuntu over Vmware
JPinTO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:02 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:42 pm

My farm has really taken a few hits.. lots of failed hardware. I'll work on getting some of it replaced, though.

At the moment:
P4 3.2 SMP - WinXP
Celery 2.66 - WinXP/SUSE
AXP 2100 - FC7
P4 1.4 - SUSE
Celery 733 - WinME
PIII 1.0 - WinXP

I lost both my A64 3200+ and X2 4200+ within a week of each other.. I think it's the terrible motherboard. If I can find a few cheap S939's, I'll get them back up and running. I also have an HD2600 and an 880)GTS in case they ever come out with a client for them. No comments about "too old to fold", they're great for the winter =)
41.60l23
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Inside a wheel, powering your QuadFX. =(

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:10 pm

C2D e4400 @ 2.5GHz - SMP
AM2 4000 x2 @ 2.5GHz - SMP
P4 3.0GHz - SMP
Dual 2.4GHz Prestonia Xeons - SMP for UGN
s754 A64 2800 @ 2.0GHz
sA Sempron 2400 @ 2.0GHz
sA Tbred 2400
sA Tbred 2200 @ 1.93GHz - for UGN
sA Duron 1200
sA Duron 850

Coming as soon as I have time to build them:
P805D - SMP
s754 A64 3000
Image Image
.* * M-51 * *. .The Whirlpool Galaxy.
farmpuma
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2324
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Soybean field, IN, USA, Earth .. just a bit south of John .. err .... Fart Wayne, Indiana

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:35 pm

Here is what I have currently:

C2Q Q6600 @ 3GHz - SMP
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.15GHz - SMP
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.2GHz - SMP
C2D E8400 @ 3.6GHz - SMP
Mac Mini CD @ 1.83Ghz - SMP
C2D E6320 @ 2.8GHz - SMP
C2D E6320 @ 3GHz - SMP
C2D E6300 @ 3GHz - SMP
P E2140 @ 2.8GHz - SMP
P E2140 @ 2.66GHz - SMP
A 2400+ @ 2.2GHz
P4 @ 2.8
PS3 40GB - folding for TRFrankenbot.. Have to keep the little guy on life-support until Halloween. :P
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:43 am

I hope those machines are all at your office, or something, because if you bought all of those... then you're insane 8)
Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:51 am

Nitrodist wrote:I hope those machines are all at your office, or something, because if you bought all of those... then you're insane 8)


Some of those are from family members and friends that I provide 'support' to. 8)
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:39 pm

my folding farm worth almost 19k ppd:

1x q6600 @ 3ghz - 2x winSMP
1x q6600 @ 3.2ghz - 2x linux SMP (dhcp and tftp server)
2x q6600 @ 3ghz - 1x linux smp via notfred's suite
1x q6600 @ 2.4ghz - 1x linux smp via notfred's suite
1x t7500 @ 2.2ghz - 1x winSMP
1x PS3 80gb

all in all, about 60ish ghz of folding power!
Image
runlinux
Gerbil
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:29 pm

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:56 pm

runlinux wrote:my folding farm worth almost 19k ppd:

1x q6600 @ 3ghz - 2x winSMP
1x q6600 @ 3.2ghz - 2x linux SMP (dhcp and tftp server)
2x q6600 @ 3ghz - 1x linux smp via notfred's suite
1x q6600 @ 2.4ghz - 1x linux smp via notfred's suite
1x t7500 @ 2.2ghz - 1x winSMP
1x PS3 80gb

all in all, about 60ish ghz of folding power!


Can you be persuaded to fold under the TR banner? :)
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:57 pm

temping as this is the home of notfred - the awesome man doing the diskless project!
Image
runlinux
Gerbil
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:29 pm

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:09 am

Just got my hands on three PIII 866's for free. My farm is currently running Rosetta@Home, but I'll consider switching them over if we can actually get some competition going against team OSX. :lol:
41.60l23
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Inside a wheel, powering your QuadFX. =(

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:59 am

Just my X2 3600+ @ 2.75ghz under Vista. One instance, but I keep my computer on constantly. (At college. No bills is awesome!)
Where do we find out the PPD?
enzia35
Gerbil
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:33 pm

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:41 am

fahmon is a good start. Since that's an x2, running the SMP will net you more points.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21323
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:09 am

Usacomp2k3 wrote:fahmon is a good start. Since that's an x2, running the SMP will net you more points.

Smashing. Just started running fahmon, so it's at 155 PPD. Which seems a bit low.
enzia35
Gerbil
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:33 pm

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:29 am

Q6600@3.0 Vista64 SMP
E6300@2.6 XP SMP
E6300@2.7 XP SMP
X23800@2.0 W2K SMP
P4 805@3.2 Was W2K but trying notfred's Linux CD (so far so good)
2XA64@2.0 W2K command line as a service
P4 2.4@3.0 W2K command line as a service
2XAXP2500 W2K command line as a service
Tualatin Celeron 1400 W2K command line as a service
Tualatin Celeron 1000 W2K command line as a service
2XAXP2400 W2K command line as a service
AXP3000 W2K command line as a service

About 7000 to 8000 PPD
Nothing clever.
Lockheed_Tvr
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 1:30 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:26 am

Every one....Pics please....
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:40 pm

enzia35 wrote:
Usacomp2k3 wrote:fahmon is a good start. Since that's an x2, running the SMP will net you more points.

Smashing. Just started running fahmon, so it's at 155 PPD. Which seems a bit low.


That sounds about right for a single-core client. You should look into running the SMP client which should net you about 1000PPD for your cpu type and clockspeed.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:44 pm

I am just getting the folding bug. I've been folding on my PS3 for about 4 months now pretty much 24/7 ( I rarely game with it or watch movies).

I just installed graphical client on the following (over past couple of days):

1) Q6600
2) X2500+ BE
3) Laptop 1.7GHZ
4) Laptop Core2 at 1.8GHZ
5) Laptop Core2 at 1.5GHZ

Those speeds are off the top of my head so may not be completely accurate.

It's been fun watching my name climb up the Team2630 list. I'm Darwin00214. The last time I looked I was ranked 303 and getting ready to pass smeshy123. I'm passing people quickly for the moment, but I expect soon I will hit the guys with active farms and I'll be a little fish in a big pond.

From the posts I have been reading it sounds like I need to install the SMP on my Q6600, maybe even the X25000+.
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: Post your Farm

Postposted on Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 pm

Jigar2speed5095 wrote:Every one....Pics please....

Alrighty. You asked for it. In glorious Nokia E61i photo quality...

My home folders-
http://home.comcast.net/~slingdot/home.jpg
These all fold 24/7. I just brought that Celeron 1.4 back for 41.60l23's 350PPD Initiative (a drop in the bucket). The PS3 is upstairs. It also folds 24/7 except for games and movies.

At the office-
http://home.comcast.net/~slingdot/office1.jpg
This former broom closet is my office. Yes, the 500MHz. Thinkpad is folding. I run the SMP client on the P4D and the Core 2 Duo laptop.

http://home.comcast.net/~slingdot/office2.jpg
That's the Phenom 9500 running 4 single core instances.

http://home.comcast.net/~slingdot/office3.jpg
Here's the Q6600, also running 4 single core instances. And the P4 3.2. The other tower is folding as well, but I don't remember which CPU is in it.

And the other boxes are spread out throughout the company.
Haggis!
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 11:12 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Next

Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest