SMP Client

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:51 am

Downloaded the SMP client: http://www.stanford.edu/%7Ekasson/foldi ... Client.EXE
Double click on exe, installed, then the installer told me to run install.bat
I downloaded the update first: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... update.zip
unzipped, copy to program files\[folding dir]
then I run the install.bat
I leave the defaults, and supply a password.
then I run the fah.exe, put the same password, and guess what ? not working :cry:
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:39 pm

Hi Emi, what OS are you using? Vista requires activation and use of the Administrator account to perform the initial install. In Vista you cannot install your folding folder in "Program Files" or "Programs". I think you have to use the administrator account in XP for the initial install. Seach around here. This problem has been encountered before.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:23 pm

Do you get an error message? If so what is it?
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38088
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:16 pm

OS: Windows XP SP2

JBI, fah.exe say something about the account and exit.
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:51 pm

emi25 wrote:JBI, fah.exe say something about the account and exit.

If you want help troubleshooting this issue, you need to tell us what the error message was. Can you run it again and write it down or do a copy-paste? Was it maybe something about a missing password?

From Folding@home's SMP FAQ:
1. Make sure .netframework 2.0 is installed
2. Make sure you have an account with a password set up (FAH SMP on Windows won't work if your account doesn't have a password associated with it).
3. Install FAH SMP client
4. Run install.bat file
5. Run fah.exe
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38088
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:09 pm

Hmm, it want my windows logon account and password !!
Solved that part.
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 12:02 am

emi25 wrote:Hmm, it want my windows logon account and password !!
Solved that part.

And the next part is?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24579
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:10 am

Flying Fox wrote:And the next part is?

It's unstable, the firewall window want to show but I don't see any content there, the explorer.exe need to be restarted, etc.
And forced me to put a password on windows logon.

No smp client for me yet.
Last edited by emi25 on Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:36 am

emi25 wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:And the next part is?

It's unstable, the firewall window want so show but I don't see any content there, the explorer.exe need to be restarted, etc.
And forced me to put a password on windows logon.

No smp client for me yet.

You mean you don't have a password with your account (or just set to blank?)? Probably not a good idea anyways.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24579
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:49 am

The new 5.92(?) upgrade is only needed if u have a previous install. If you download and install the full client fresh you shouldn't need to install the update. they seem to have added some credential thing to it so you need to create a new credential store when u run the install.bat. there was no documentation with the release so it was confusing when i upgraded my local machine from 5.91. Personally I would suggest to stick w/ 5.91 if it still works after shutdown(the linux update always screws me over point wise, as they always come out right AFTER i have left home) I know some people have issue w/ 5.91/SMP in general, but for me 5.91 has been smooth mostly, so i don't really feel any increased stability/change going to 5.92.
Image
Maph
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:31 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:17 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
emi25 wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:And the next part is?

It's unstable, the firewall window want so show but I don't see any content there, the explorer.exe need to be restarted, etc.
And forced me to put a password on windows logon.

No smp client for me yet.

You mean you don't have a password with your account (or just set to blank?)? Probably not a good idea anyways.

I disagree, but it is necessary for folding with SMP nonetheless
Main Rig: FX-6100@4.2ghz / Radeon 6950 / Velociraptor HD / 8GB Ram / Win 7 x64
Backup/FIleserver: Sempron 2650 / 6 TB storage / FreeBSD 10 / hilariously inside a Cooler Master Cosmos case
pikaporeon
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada.

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:22 pm

And forced me to put a password on windows logon.


Seems like such a small sacrifice to make, when the SMP client can earn so many more points for the team, especially when it's so easy to setup autologin. With autologin, you won't even notice the difference of having a password or not. :wink:
7im
Gerbil
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:20 pm

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:27 pm

7im wrote:
And forced me to put a password on windows logon.


Seems like such a small sacrifice to make, when the SMP client can earn so many more points for the team, especially when it's so easy to setup autologin. With autologin, you won't even notice the difference of having a password or not. :wink:

you mean autologin on windows xp ? where is that option ?
on some linux os I tested, that was easy.
Last edited by emi25 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:31 pm

now I'm running the graphical client one on a core, and the service option one on the other core.
emi25
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:18 am

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:26 pm

One way to auto-login is download the Tweakui powertoy and use that
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: SMP Client

Postposted on Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:32 pm

emi25 wrote:you mean autologin on windows xp ? where is that option ?
on some linux os I tested, that was easy.
run "control userpasswords2" or just use TweakUI.
Q9400@3.2GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2-800 | MSI GTX 560 Ti | Lian Li PC-7B | Corsair 450VX | Dell 2005FPW
crazybus
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 9:25 pm


Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest