Additional GPUs... (?)

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:23 pm

so i have the nvidia 780i chipset in my motherboard which, as you know, is tri-sli ready. I have 1 8800GTS 512mb card in there presently and am thinking about adding another or upgrading to the GTX260(making up my mind in that area is another thread, altogether). Now, supposing i add another 8800GTS for SLI, i will still have 1 pci-e 16x slot left. is it possible to throw another card, say a 9600GT or another sub-$100 card in there just as a folder?? other than HEAT, what kind of problems am i looking at if doing that?? and with the SLI cards, will i be able to just turn off SLI when i'm not gaming so that I can fold on each card?

EDIT: okay, after more research it looks as if i need to build a VGA Dummy Connector? anyone get this to work without using one of those? my soldering skills are up to par but it just seems like a lot of trouble getting my hands on those parts. anyway...if anyone has any ideas, please let me know. i really appreciate it
"Civilization begins with distillation"
-William Faulkner
montiac
Gerbil
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 4:53 am
Location: Cp Humphreys, S. Korea

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:43 am

David00214 used two connections (DVI & VGA) to the same monitor to extend his desktop.

I also had success using the NVidia Control Panel to switch to muiltiple GPUs without using a second monitor hook up.

You have to turn SLI off prior to enabling multiple GPUs.
Join UGN's Drive to the Top!
Image
UnitedGerbilNation wants you!!
jeffry55
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: Menlo Park - just down the street from the F@H Servers!

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:12 am

If you run XP you don't have to play around with anything.

I've got a 9800 GTX 512 in one PCI slot, and a 9800GX2 in the other powered by a 750W Power supply. This nets ~5000PPD x3 = 15000PPD.

Heat and noise is an issue. And my Nvidia boards have a high pitched squeal which is annoying.

- JP
JPinTO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:02 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:37 pm

My 9800GX2 still is at only 2,000 PPD on the second GPU. I am running multiple GPU setting, the desktop is extended, I have two GPU2 clients with different machine IDs and have "-forcegpu nvidia_g80 -gpu 1" and "-forcegpu nvidia_g80 -gpu 0" set in the additional parameters. What else do I need to do to get both GPUs folding properly?

Image
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:00 pm

Try downloading GPUZ and see if there is a difference in how the GPU's are running.

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/11 ... 0.2.6.html

Also, take a look at the CPU affinities on the FahCore_11.exe processes.

- JP
JPinTO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:02 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:59 pm

Only difference I see is in the BIOs version. Is that normal?

Image

To the OP, sorry if I am hijacking your thread let me know and I will cease and desist. Figured this is useful for anyone trying to get two GPUs working though.
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:52 pm

My GX2 shows the same thing with the BIOS version, so that's not your problem.

You are running Vista so I can't help you out much. I'd check the CPU usage% and make sure your feeding the GPU enough CPU. Or try a regression of Nvidia drivers. I'm running 177.84 under XP without any issues on either system.
JPinTO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:02 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:57 pm

david00214 wrote:To the OP, sorry if I am hijacking your thread let me know and I will cease and desist. Figured this is useful for anyone trying to get two GPUs working though.


no worries man. this can be a thread for anyone working on getting multiple GPUs up and folding on their machine. what helps one is sure to help another...
"Civilization begins with distillation"
-William Faulkner
montiac
Gerbil
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 4:53 am
Location: Cp Humphreys, S. Korea

Re: Additional GPUs... (?)

Postposted on Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:31 pm

Are each GPU2's threads limited to a single core or are they loose using which ever CPU is free? You can stack both GPU2's so they both share that 20% CPU polling or whatever under Vista.
i3-530 | HR-01 Plus (passive) | DH55TC | 4GB Kingston DDR3 | Toshiba 250GB 2.5" HDD | Mini P180 | picoPSU 150-xt w/102w brick | 21w idle
Pegasus
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:13 am


Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests