setting up the SMP F@H client

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

setting up the SMP F@H client

Postposted on Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:12 am

I would like to run SMP FAH on my computer. I downloaded the zip file containing the files needed from the FAH website and I followed the instructions they had on how to install it. I have the DeinoMPI installed successfully (it said that it was installed and running twice in cmd like it was supposed to). From there it says to "run FAH.exe". The downloaded zip file didn't come with any FAH.exe and I'm not sure what to do from here.
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Re: setting up the SMP F@H client

Postposted on Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:36 pm

Did you following the instructions here? http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinSMPGuideDEINO
Acer AO521, Asus EEE2G, and an e6300 (EP45-DS3L, 4GB Corsair, 320GB 7200.10, EVGA GT250, Corsair VX450W and Samsung 2043BW)
iamajai
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:02 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: setting up the SMP F@H client

Postposted on Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:49 pm

It appears that some of the instructions are out-of-date. Try executing the Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe binary instead of fah.exe.

(I am also taking the liberty of moving this thread to the DC forum...)
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37964
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: setting up the SMP F@H client

Postposted on Thu Sep 25, 2008 6:39 am

I followed the guide stanford has up. All the set up is done and the thing downloads the correct core ( the a1 core). The problem comes when it tries to start doing work and it says CoreStatus= 1(1) , Error 0x1, There is some bigass problem and it will just get more serious, shutting down.

I looked on the FAH errorcodes wiki and it turns out this problem is pretty generic. What are some solutions/causes of this problem?
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Re: setting up the SMP F@H client

Postposted on Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:49 am

I usually encounter that problem with the 2665 wu. Whenever this problem occurs, I would delete queue.dat, wuinfo (I think that's what it's called), the core (a1 in this case), and the work folder. I then restart the client and it would download a new wu and the necessary files. I had never encounter this issue until the 6.20 client. :evil:
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA


Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests